Visit of our japanese sponsors!

On the 11th and 12th of February, Kyoto South Rotary and students from Kyoto Foreign Studies University, that is to say 45 people, visited us at the pastry school and the primary school, with a lot of supplies for our students.

The visit started on Thursday the 11th of February at Bayon Pastry School. Divided into three groups, our Japanese friends spent some time in the coffee shop and tasted an assortment of financiers while our program director introduced the vocational training. Two Japanese airline companies (Jal and Ana) generously donated tableware for the school.

Rotary Kyoto Bayon coffee shop

The visitors met us on the next morning at the primary school where the children were waiting for them for a lively day!

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Once everyone settled, the children received new supplies: flip-flops, school material, towels and special tableware for the canteen.

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

The children also got a book entirely created by the Japanese students for them: “A strategy for a clean village”. It is the story of a Cambodian village invaded by trash, like it is in real life for many of them. Some little monsters come to the village to eat the trash and scare the children. Thus, the inhabitants decide to clean their village and keep it clean! A great way to raise children’s and their families’ awareness about cleanliness and environment, all illustrated with nice water color pictures!

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Thanks to some big signs they made, two students told the children the story, via a Khmer translator.

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

After receiving the supplies and thanking the donators, the children had lunch at the canteen and enjoyed an exceptional dessert: the financiers made at the pastry school!

Bayon Rotary Kyoto - financier

The visitors enjoyed Elodie’s canteen too and had a Khmer lunch with rice, vegetables and meat.

DSC_1632

A big thank you to Rotary Kyoto South and Kyoto Foreign Studies University for your visit, for having supported Bayon School for several years and for your generous donations. The children had a great day and so did we!

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

, 8 March 2016

Visite de nos sponsors japonais !

Les 11 et 12 février, le Rotary de Kyoto South et des étudiants de Kyoto Foreign Studies University, soit 45 personnes, sont venus nous rendre visite à l’école de pâtisserie et à l’école primaire, apportant de nombreux colis de matériel pour nos élèves.

La visite a débuté jeudi 11 février à l’école de pâtisserie. Divisés en trois groupes, nos amis japonais ont passé un moment au coffee shop et goûté un assortiment de financiers pendant que notre directrice de programme Claire leur présentait la formation. Deux compagnies aériennes japonaises (Jal and ANA) nous ont généreusement fait don de vaisselle pour l’école.

Rotary Kyoto Bayon coffee shop

Les visiteurs nous ont retrouvés le lendemain matin à l’école primaire où les enfants les attendaient pour une journée animée !

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Une fois tout le monde installé, les enfants ont reçu du nouveau matériel : une paire de tong, des fournitures scolaires, des serviettes et de la vaisselle de cantine.

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Les enfants ont également reçu un livre entièrement réalisé par les étudiants japonais spécialement pour eux : « A strategy for a clean village ». C’est l’histoire d’un village cambodgien envahi par les déchets, comme c’est le cas pour beaucoup dans la réalité. Des petits monstres viennent grignoter ces déchets et font peur aux enfants. Les habitants décident alors de nettoyer leur village et de le garder propre ! Une belle manière de sensibiliser les enfants et leurs familles à la propreté et à l’environnement, le tout illustré par des aquarelles !

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Grâce à de grandes pancartes préparées par leurs soins, deux étudiantes ont conté l’histoire aux enfants, par le biais d’une traductrice khmère.

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Après avoir reçu le matériel et remercié les donateurs, les enfants sont allés manger à la cantine et ont pu savourer un dessert exceptionnel : les financiers de l’école de pâtisserie !

Bayon Rotary Kyoto - financier

Les visiteurs ont profité eux aussi de la cantine d’Elodie et déjeuné « à la khmer » à base de riz, légumes et viande.

DSC_1632

Un grand merci à Rotary Kyoto South et à Kyoto Foreign Studies University pour votre visite, pour votre soutien à l’école du Bayon depuis plusieurs années et pour vos généreux dons. Les enfants ont passé une très belle journée et nous aussi !

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

, 8 mars 2016