A NEW WORKSPACE AT BAYON PASTRY SCHOOL

The Bayon Pastry School has begun its sixth school year with a new intake of 26 students. The site has been transformed from its modest beginnings and the training programme is now highly professional and well known in and around Siem Reap.

Our experience has led to a growing reputation and our students find jobs easily once they have finished the programme. Over the last 5 years, 86 students have graduated and found stable jobs.

What’s next? We want to grow and improve our training site as well as the quality of our bread. Our students are trained mainly in pastry but we want to develop our bread-making programme. With this in mind, we have decided to create a new baking laboratory for use by our students.

WEB-IMG_0987

Let’s find out more from Sokhoeurn, the head of the Pastry school:

What are the objectives of this new work space?
The main objective is to extend our premises to allow us to recruit more than 25 students per intake. In addition, up until now, we have concentrated on pastry and the equipment we use is not particularly adapted to bread-making. We would therefore like to invest in more specialised equipment for this new programme.

What has changed compared to the old pastry lab?
Apart from giving us more space, the major improvement has been made in reaching required standards of hygiene. With this new work space, we will be able to operate in compliance with international standards of hygiene and food safety.

WEB-IMG-1805

Have you invested in specific equipment?
We have invested in the small equipment which Is essential for break-making, as well as a dough-making machine, spiral mixers and an oven. I am particularly proud of the investment in the cold storage room which will enable us to manage our stock better. These recommendations were made by Lesaffre and Arizta, our partners on this project.

What are your projects for the future?
We would like to improve the quality of our bread and then promote it in Siem Reap. We want our students to realise how important bread is; they need to understand that it is the equivalent of the rice that we eat with every meal in Cambodia!

A very big thank you to all our sponsors, this project could not exist without your loyal support : Aryzta, Fondation Sodebo, Lesaffre, Kitchen Aid ; and not forgetting severals donators who gave in honor of Irene Meister.

WEB-IMG_20191209_164149

, 16 December 2019

UN NOUVEL ESPACE DE TRAVAIL POUR L’ECOLE DE PÂTISSERIE

La Bayon Pastry School a entamé sa sixième année d’existence et a accueilli 26 nouvelles étudiantes. Le lieu a bien évolué et la formation est aujourd’hui très professionnelle et reconnue à Siem Reap.

Avec notre expérience, nous gagnons en notoriété et nos étudiantes trouvent facilement un emploi à la sortie de l’école. En cinq ans, 86 étudiantes sont sorties diplômées et travaillent dorénavant avec un emploi stable.

Et maintenant ? Nous voulons grandir, améliorer notre espace de formation et la qualité de nos pains. Les étudiantes sont principalement formées à la pâtisserie, mais nous voulons améliorer la formation en boulangerie. Nous avons donc décidé de créer un nouveau laboratoire de boulangerie, destiné à la formation des étudiantes.

WEB-IMG_0987

Laissons la parole à Sokhoeurn, notre directrice de l’école :

Quels sont les objectifs de ce nouvel espace ?
Le premier objectif est de disposer d’espace supplémentaire pour recruter plus de 25 étudiantes par promotion. D’autre part, nous nous sommes jusqu’ici principalement concentrés sur la pâtisserie ; le matériel que nous utilisons est moins adapté à la boulangerie et nous souhaitons donc investir pour avancer dans cette voie.

Qu’est ce qui change par rapport à l’ancien pastry lab ?
Au-delà de l’espace gagné, l’évolution principale est liée aux normes d’hygiène. Avec ce nouvel espace, nous pourrons nous mettre aux normes et respecter au mieux les règles sanitaires et de sécurité alimentaire internationales.

WEB-IMG-1805

Avez-vous investi dans du matériel spécifique ?
Nous avons investi dans des petits équipements, indispensables pour la boulangerie mais aussi dans un laminoir (machine pour les pâtes), des mixers à spirale et un four.
La chose dont je suis le plus satisfaite est l’investissement dans une chambre froide qui va nous permettre de mieux gérer les stocks. Ces recommandations ont été faites par nos partenaires de Lesaffre et Arizta qui nous suivent sur ce projet.

Quels sont les plans pour le futur ?
Nous voulons améliorer la qualité de nos pains et les faire connaître sur Siem Reap. Nous voulons que les étudiantes comprennent pourquoi le pain est si important. C’est comme le riz au Cambodge que nous mangeons à chaque repas !

Un grand merci à l’ensemble de nos sponsors sans qui ce projet n’aurait pas pu exister : Aryzta, Fondation Sodebo, Lesaffre, Kitchen Aid ; sans oublier les nombreux donateurs qui ont notamment donné en hommage à Irene Meister.

WEB-IMG_20191209_164149

, 16 décembre 2019