support :

Bayon’s friends, always mobilized!

A family from Notre-Dame des Arts school in Riom visits Bayon

During their trip in Cambodia, the Gauthier-Lamontagne family visited us on the 8th of April with generous donations for our students: toothbrushes, toothpaste, soap and clothes.

Photos Lumix 04-2015 610
After seeing the pastry school and the coffee shop, they went to the primary school, which was occupied by many monkeys while the children where on holidays for Khmer new year.
As part of Angkor Academy project and to share their culture, the children Clémence and Yann had prepared, with their classmates of the Notre-Dame des Arts (partner of the project), individual presentation cards which will be given to our students.


Passeports
 

Vintage cars gathering in Volvic

Although the spring had not reached Volvic yet on the 17th of April, vintage car fans still came with their umbrella to admire the 71 cars which, after parading in the town, were watched with enthusiasm.

Volvic

In the hall, thanks to the happy owners, a friendly atmosphere was reigning… Some members of our association worked all day to provide people with drinks and pastries. They raised the amount of a school year for two children in Bayon.
Thank you to all the people who enabled this fun and helpful day and particularly to Nicole Laurent for all the work she did before and during the event.

buvette Volvic

 
New “bowl of rice” operation in Ste Marie highschool of Riom

Like every year, in a spirit of sharing with the underprivileged ones, the teachers and student of Ste Marie high school of Riom, supervised by Thérèse, replaced their usual lunch with a bowl or rice, on the 25th of April. The benefits were granted to Bayon School.
All the interested people could have lunch in a big room where Jacqueline Chouette, our president of honor, was commenting a presentation about food in Cambodia, local farming and climate. A slide show about Elodie’s canteen opened the discussion on hands and teeth hygiene and water use optimization. The teenagers and teachers had many interesting questions on those topics.
Thank you to all the people who got involved in this successful solidarity action, which will help several children go to school for a year.

College lycée riom2
 

Hike and BBQ in memory of Elodie

On Sunday 24th April, the members of the association Le Rêve d’Elo welcomed 370 people for a hike (8 or 12 kms).

Marche d'ELO 2016 041

After the walk, Virginie, their president, thanked the attendees, the partners and the town council. She presented the association, its humanitarian goal in favor of Bayon school’s canteen and reported the outcome of the last actions.
Mai, our president in Cambodia, took the floor too and talked about the current projects of the school.
Christophe, member of our association, brought up the canteen’s working and precised that on the last medical check-up, the doctor had already noticed an improvement of the children’s health linked to a healthy nutrition.
Finally, Joël paid tribute to his daughter Elodie.
The hikers and non-hikers got together around a BBQ.

Le rêve d'élo barbecue

This event enabled Le Reve d’Elo to raise almost €7,000 for Elodie’s canteen, that’s to say about a third of the yearly running costs!

A huge thank you to the attendees, organizers and particularly Cathy and Joël for their involvement.

, 2 May 2016

Visit of our japanese sponsors!

On the 11th and 12th of February, Kyoto South Rotary and students from Kyoto Foreign Studies University, that is to say 45 people, visited us at the pastry school and the primary school, with a lot of supplies for our students.

The visit started on Thursday the 11th of February at Bayon Pastry School. Divided into three groups, our Japanese friends spent some time in the coffee shop and tasted an assortment of financiers while our program director introduced the vocational training. Two Japanese airline companies (Jal and Ana) generously donated tableware for the school.

Rotary Kyoto Bayon coffee shop

The visitors met us on the next morning at the primary school where the children were waiting for them for a lively day!

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Once everyone settled, the children received new supplies: flip-flops, school material, towels and special tableware for the canteen.

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

The children also got a book entirely created by the Japanese students for them: “A strategy for a clean village”. It is the story of a Cambodian village invaded by trash, like it is in real life for many of them. Some little monsters come to the village to eat the trash and scare the children. Thus, the inhabitants decide to clean their village and keep it clean! A great way to raise children’s and their families’ awareness about cleanliness and environment, all illustrated with nice water color pictures!

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Thanks to some big signs they made, two students told the children the story, via a Khmer translator.

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

After receiving the supplies and thanking the donators, the children had lunch at the canteen and enjoyed an exceptional dessert: the financiers made at the pastry school!

Bayon Rotary Kyoto - financier

The visitors enjoyed Elodie’s canteen too and had a Khmer lunch with rice, vegetables and meat.

DSC_1632

A big thank you to Rotary Kyoto South and Kyoto Foreign Studies University for your visit, for having supported Bayon School for several years and for your generous donations. The children had a great day and so did we!

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

, 8 March 2016

soutien :

Les amis du Bayon toujours mobilisés !

Une famille de l’école Notre-Dame des Arts de Riom en visite au Bayon

En voyage au Cambodge, la famille Gauthier-Lamontagne est venue nous rendre visite le 8 avril avec de généreux dons pour nos élèves : brosses à dents, dentifrice, savon et vêtements.

Photos Lumix 04-2015 610
Après avoir découvert l’école de pâtisserie et notre coffee shop, ils se sont rendus à l’école primaire où les singes étaient nombreux à occuper les lieux, alors que les enfants étaient en vacances pour le nouvel an khmer.
Dans le cadre du projet Angkor Academy et du partage de cultures, les deux enfants Clémence et Yann avaient préparé, avec leurs camarades de CM2 de l’école Notre-Dame des Arts (partenaire du projet), des petites fiches de présentation individuelles qui seront remises à nos élèves.


Passeports
 

Rassemblement de véhicules anciens à Volvic

Le printemps n’était pas encore arrivé à Volvic le 17 avril mais des passionnés de voitures anciennes, équipés de parapluie, sont tout de même venus admirer les 71 véhicules anciens qui, après avoir défilé dans la ville et les villages s’exposaient aux regards envieux.

Volvic

Toutefois dans la salle, grâce aux heureux propriétaires, une ambiance conviviale régnait…. Des membres de notre association ont œuvré toute la journée pour fournir boissons et pâtisseries. Ils ont ainsi récolté l’équivalent du coût d’une année scolaire pour 2 enfants.

Merci à tous ceux et celles qui, décisionnaires ou acteurs, ont permis la réalisation de cette journée ludique et humanitaire et en particulier à Nicole Laurent pour tout le travail accompli avant et pendant la manifestation.
buvette Volvic

 
Nouvelle opération bol de riz au collège-lycée Ste Marie de Riom

Comme chaque année, dans un esprit de partage avec ceux qui n’ont pas les mêmes chances, les enseignants et élèves du collège-lycée St Marie de Riom, sous l’œil organisateur et bienveillant de Thérèse, ont le vendredi 25 avril remplacé leur repas traditionnel par un bol de riz. Les bénéfices étaient à nouveau accordés à l’école du Bayon.
Tous ceux qui le désiraient pouvaient venir manger dans une salle ou était assurée en boucle, une projection commentée par Jacqueline Chouette notre présidente d’honneur sur la nourriture au Cambodge ouvrant la discussion sur l’agriculture locale, le climat et un diaporama sur la cantine d’Elodie permettant d’aborder nos programmes sur l’hygiène des mains, l’hygiène dentaire et l’optimisation de l’utilisation de l’eau. Les adolescents et professeurs sont venus nombreux avec de nombreuses questions intéressantes.
Merci à tous ceux qui de près ou de plus loin se sont investis dans cette action de solidarité réussie qui permettra la scolarisation de plusieurs enfants pendant une année.

College lycée riom2
 

Randonnée et barbecue en mémoire d’Elodie

Le dimanche 24 avril, les membres de l’association « Le rêve d’Elo » ont accueilli 370 personnes pour une randonnée (8 ou 12km).

Marche d'ELO 2016 041

Après la marche, Virginie, la présidente de l’association, a remercié tous les participants, les partenaires et la municipalité d’Anisy. Elle a présenté l’association, son objectif humanitaire en faveur de la cantine de l’école du Bayon et a rendu compte de l’exercice financier des manifestations organisées précédemment.
Mai, notre présidente au Cambodge, a également pris la parole pour évoquer en particulier les projets de l’école et les dernières avancées.
Christophe, membre de notre association, a parlé du fonctionnement de la cantine et a précisé que lors de la dernière visite médicale annuelle, le médecin avait déjà constaté une amélioration de la santé des enfants liée aux bienfaits d’une alimentation régulière.
Après une petite intervention de Joël qui a évoqué la mémoire d’Elodie, un hommage lui a été rendu sous forme d’applaudissements.
Les participants se sont ensuite retrouvés autour d’un barbecue.

Le rêve d'élo barbecue
Cette manifestation a permis de récolter presque 7 000€ pour la cantine d’Elodie, soit environ un tiers du budget annuel de fonctionnement !

Un grand merci à tous les participants, organisateurs et particulièrement Cathy et Joël pour leur implication.

, 2 mai 2016

Visite de nos sponsors japonais !

Les 11 et 12 février, le Rotary de Kyoto South et des étudiants de Kyoto Foreign Studies University, soit 45 personnes, sont venus nous rendre visite à l’école de pâtisserie et à l’école primaire, apportant de nombreux colis de matériel pour nos élèves.

La visite a débuté jeudi 11 février à l’école de pâtisserie. Divisés en trois groupes, nos amis japonais ont passé un moment au coffee shop et goûté un assortiment de financiers pendant que notre directrice de programme Claire leur présentait la formation. Deux compagnies aériennes japonaises (Jal and ANA) nous ont généreusement fait don de vaisselle pour l’école.

Rotary Kyoto Bayon coffee shop

Les visiteurs nous ont retrouvés le lendemain matin à l’école primaire où les enfants les attendaient pour une journée animée !

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Une fois tout le monde installé, les enfants ont reçu du nouveau matériel : une paire de tong, des fournitures scolaires, des serviettes et de la vaisselle de cantine.

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Les enfants ont également reçu un livre entièrement réalisé par les étudiants japonais spécialement pour eux : « A strategy for a clean village ». C’est l’histoire d’un village cambodgien envahi par les déchets, comme c’est le cas pour beaucoup dans la réalité. Des petits monstres viennent grignoter ces déchets et font peur aux enfants. Les habitants décident alors de nettoyer leur village et de le garder propre ! Une belle manière de sensibiliser les enfants et leurs familles à la propreté et à l’environnement, le tout illustré par des aquarelles !

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Grâce à de grandes pancartes préparées par leurs soins, deux étudiantes ont conté l’histoire aux enfants, par le biais d’une traductrice khmère.

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Après avoir reçu le matériel et remercié les donateurs, les enfants sont allés manger à la cantine et ont pu savourer un dessert exceptionnel : les financiers de l’école de pâtisserie !

Bayon Rotary Kyoto - financier

Les visiteurs ont profité eux aussi de la cantine d’Elodie et déjeuné « à la khmer » à base de riz, légumes et viande.

DSC_1632

Un grand merci à Rotary Kyoto South et à Kyoto Foreign Studies University pour votre visite, pour votre soutien à l’école du Bayon depuis plusieurs années et pour vos généreux dons. Les enfants ont passé une très belle journée et nous aussi !

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

Bayon Rotary Kyoto

, 8 mars 2016