pâtisserie :

Behind the scenes of a new project at Bayon Pastry School

Riana, 22 years old, tells us about her experience in our pastry school and introduces the beautiful project she was in charge of.
 

I study management at NEOMA Business School in Rouen. Since I entered this school, I have always been willing to follow two principles. The first one is to find out what I am really passionate about and choose my internship according to that. The second one is to keep involved in education for everyone because I am aware of how lucky I have been to be able to study so far. When I was told about Bayon Pastry School, I was immediately interested. I had just finished an internship at Danone, during which my addiction to deserts had grown and I was seeking a mission for an NGO in education. Working for a pastry school? Challenge accepted!
 
At Bayon Pastry School, I was in charge of a pastry cookbook that will be sold to raise money for the pastry training. I had to organize the whole project (the different steps, the budget, the planning…) and write the contents of the book. Our goal is to make a beautiful book that tells the story of the school so that everyone can read it even if they don’t intend to cook!
 
For this purpose, we had to make something different from the other cookbooks thanks to a significant storytelling. Why not immerse into a pastry student’s life? That’s the story I decided to tell. Along the book, we can follow the school year of a young woman: her integration in the school, her first steps in the professional world, her doubts and success, until her graduation! The story is based on testimonies from the students of the second intake (2015-2016). Actually, some testimonies will appear in the book throughout the book. Each chapter contains recipes that are linked to what the student narrator is living. Thus, we encourage the readers to put themselves in her shoes and live this experience with her! The trip wouldn’t be complete without a few pages about Khmer culinary culture and traditions! They are between some chapters to make the reader travel even more… A special guest’s recipe will also appear in the book. To find out more, you’ll have to read the book!
 
This experience will remain and unforgettable adventure and a great time in my studies. I had the chance to manage the project independently in a country that I didn’t know. I think there is no better way to discover and understand the way Khmer people work! The project has a strong creative potential. To write a book was a childhood dream. Conceiving the editorial approach, writing the chapters, giving my ideas… I think I had never felt such a fulfilment and had so much fun! Telling a student’s story also offered a great advantage: I spent a lot of time with the students to get to know their story and built bonds with them. Also, the Bayon team supported me, told me the NGO’s story and helped me understand their values. I keep in my mind a lot of good time, laugh and of course delicacies!
 
A big thank you to the whole staff of Bayon School for these three tremendous months! I am looking forward to having the book in my hands as well as a good passion fruit & chocolate tart!

 
We thank Riana for her enthusiasm, her creativity and her professionalism in implementing this project! We regret that she couldn’t stay with us longer!
 
The preface of the book and a recipe will be written by a renowned French chef who is involved too in access to education for everyone ! Big thanks to this chef whose name will be kept secret for now!
 
Finally, we would like to send our warmest thanks to Natan and Pasquier foundations who are financing this project and enable us to make a beautiful book!
 
The pastry cookbook is in progress and should be ready for sale in 2017. Keep updated!
 

, 26 September 2016

Bayon Pastry School Coffee shop celebrates its first anniversary!

After a well-deserved holiday for Khmer New Year, the team of the pastry school organized an event to celebrate the coffee shop first anniversary.

IMG_1393

 

On the morning of Sunday 24th of April, a party atmosphere prevailed at Bayon Pastry School Coffee shop. About thirty partners of the school (hotels who welcome our students for internships, business clients, suppliers and friends of the NGO) enjoyed a breakfast buffet to discover or rediscover our products.

IMG_1424

Natan Bayon pastry school IMG_1425

Romnea, who manages the coffee shop, and some students were mobilized to help us. They made an astounding work! It was a real management exercise for Romnea and an interesting role-playing for our pastry apprentices!

IMG_1391

IMG_1401

Claire, our program director, took the floor to remind the origin of our project. Then, two partners spoke. Sopheap Doung, Human Resources Manager at Amansara hotel, highlighted the benefits for students about being immersed in big hotels for their internships and her satisfaction about Bayon Pastry School students. Afterwards, Antoine Lhomme, Food and Beverage Manager at Heritage hotel, explained why the establishment chose to be provided with bread and croissants from the school.

IMG_1439

IMG_1441

IMG_1444

Some posters tracing the pastry school’s story were exhibited in the garden. You can see them by clicking here.

IMG_1458

Finally, the anniversary party was the ideal opportunity to present a new pastry that has been created for our school by Samuel Potiron, pastry chef, at the request of Natan Foundation which supports our project. That pastry, called the “Natan”, is a mango mousse dome on a French shortbread. It was served in exclusivity and is now on the coffee shop menu.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Natan

A big thank you to the staff of the school and to the students for their involvement and to the guests for being by our sides for this special morning!

IMG_1407

, 26 April 2016

Evolution of the Pastry School Project

Dear friends, Below are the latest news of the Pastry School. The Pastry School has open its doors to its 17 first students 4 months ago already. And during these four months, the students have made great progress. Here are some images of the girl’s first weeks of training.

 

Pastry classes

Before learning to bake cakes, it is essential for the students to learn about and understand the world of pastry. That’s the reason why their teachers Sokhoeurn and Sychay provide them with theoretical classes: vocabulary, pastry history, cooking methods, ingredients, food security… The students are regularly tested on their theoretical knowledge.

 

pastry_gravure

 

Regarding the practical side, the students now master some twenty recipes: financier, madeleine, lemon meringue pie, chocolate banana mousse, chocolate eclair, chocolate fondant, brownie, macarons, cookies… Beyond recipes, they also learn the importance of decoration and presentation, with fruit curving for example.

 
pastry_girl pastries

Complementary classes

The students receive two hours of English class per day. The level improves in a generally satisfactory manner, even if the students of group 1 have more possibilities. The subjects: kitchen vocabulary, equipment, utensils and ingredients, conjugation, grammar and oral practice. After six weeks of mathematics classes to review all the basics (addition, subtraction, conversion, multiplication and division), the students now follow computer classes: turn on and off a computer, create a file, create documents, emails, internet, etc…

Internships

pastry_internshipThe girls of group 1 just came back from a 6 weeks internship. The 8 students had the chance to train in the most luxury establishments of Siem Reap. During this experience, they got the chance to experience a work environment, a professional kitchen and its speed and apply the recipes learnt during classes. Their tutors were all very happy about them, which filled them with pride. The students of group 2 also started their internships.   We would like to thank you again for your support without which this great adventure would not have been possible.

, 12 February 2015

pâtisserie :

Dans les coulisses d’un nouveau projet à Bayon Pastry School!

Riana, 22 ans, nous raconte son expérience au sein de notre école de pâtisserie et vous présente le beau projet dont elle était en charge.
 

Je suis étudiante en Master de Management à NEOMA Business School – Rouen. Depuis que je suis entrée dans cette école, j’ai toujours eu à cœur de respecter deux principes. Le premier est de trouver ce qui me passionne vraiment et choisir mes stages en conséquence. Le second est de continuer à m’engager pour le développement de l’éducation accessible à tous, car je mesure la chance que j’ai d’avoir pu poursuivre mes études jusque-là. Lorsque l’on m’a parlée de l’Ecole du Bayon et de Bayon Pastry School, cela m’a immédiatement intéressée. Je venais de terminer mon stage chez Danone dans lequel j’avais développé une vraie addiction aux desserts et je cherchais à effectuer une mission pour une ONG dans le domaine de l’éducation. Travailler pour une école de pâtisserie ? Mission acceptée !
 
Au sein de Bayon Pastry School, j’étais chargée de l’édition d’un livre de recettes dont le profit des ventes servira à financer la formation. Il s’agit à la fois de définir le projet (ses étapes, son budget, son planning…) et de développer le contenu du livre. Notre objectif est de réaliser un beau livre de pâtisserie qui conte également l’histoire de l’école pour que celui-ci puisse être lu même sans intention de cuisiner !
 
Pour cela, il fallait que l’on se démarque des autres livres de recettes avec un storytelling fort. Et pourquoi ne pas se plonger dans la vie d’une étudiante qui intègre l’école de pâtisserie ? C’est en tout cas l’histoire que j’ai décidé de raconter. Tout au long du livre, nous suivons le parcours d’une jeune fille, de son intégration à l’école jusqu’à son diplôme, en passant par ses premiers pas dans le monde professionnel, ses moments de doute et de réussite ! L’histoire est inspirée des témoignages que j’ai reçus des étudiantes de la promotion 2015-2016, dont on peut retrouver des extraits au fil de la lecture. Chaque chapitre contient des recettes en lien avec ce que l’étudiante narratrice vit. Ainsi, nous invitons le lecteur à se mettre dans sa peau, à réellement vivre cette expérience ! Toutefois, le voyage ne serait pas complet sans quelques pages sur la culture culinaire cambodgienne et ses traditions ! On en retrouve entre quelques chapitres, pour s’évader un peu plus encore… La recette d’un invité « spécial » se cachera également dans le livre. Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous à la parution du livre !
 
Cette expérience restera une aventure inoubliable et un temps fort de mes études. J’ai eu l’opportunité de gérer ce projet avec beaucoup d’autonomie, dans un pays que je ne connaissais pas. Je pense qu’il n’y a pas mieux pour découvrir et comprendre la façon dont les Cambodgiens travaillent ! Le projet a également un incroyable potentiel créatif. Ecrire un livre était un rêve de petite fille pour moi. Réfléchir à la ligne éditoriale, écrire les chapitres, mettre en avant mes idées… Je pense que je ne me suis jamais autant épanouie… et amusée ! Raconter l’histoire d’une étudiante avait également un énorme avantage : j’ai pu passer du temps avec les étudiantes, connaître leur histoire et créer des liens avec elles. C’est ce qui contribuait à me donner le sourire tous les jours ! Sans parler de toute l’équipe qui m’a soutenue, m’a racontée l’histoire de l’ONG et inculquée ses valeurs. Je garde en mémoire beaucoup de moments de partage, de rires et de gourmandise bien sûr !
 
Un grand merci à toute l’équipe de l’Ecole du Bayon pour ces 3 mois formidables ! Il me tarde d’avoir le livre entre les mains, ainsi qu’une bonne tarte passion chocolat !

 
Nous remercions Riana pour l’enthousiasme, la créativité et le professionnalisme dont elle a fait preuve en mettant en place ce projet ! Nous regrettons qu’elle n’ait pas pu rester avec nous plus longtemps !
 
La préface de ce livre ainsi qu’une recette seront rédigées par un grand chef français impliqué lui aussi dans le domaine de l’éducation pour tous ! Un grand merci à ce chef dont nous gardons le nom encore un peu secret !
 
Enfin, nous tenons à remercier les fondations Natan et Pasquier qui financent ce projet et nous permettront de réaliser un très beau livre !
 
Le livre de recettes est en cours de réalisation et sera mis en vente courant 2017. Restez connectés !
 

, 26 septembre 2016

Le coffee shop de Bayon Pastry School fête son premier anniversaire !

Au retour des vacances du nouvel an Khmer, l’équipe de l’école de pâtisserie a organisé un événement pour célébrer le 1er anniversaire du coffee shop.

IMG_1393

 

Au matin du dimanche 24 avril régnait une ambiance festive à Bayon Pastry School Coffee shop. Sur un air de saxophone, une trentaine de partenaires de l’école (hôtels qui accueillent nos étudiantes en stage, clients professionnels, prestataires et amis de l’association) ont profité d’un buffet petit déjeuner pour découvrir ou redécouvrir nos produits.

IMG_1424

Natan Bayon pastry school IMG_1425

Romnea, qui gère le coffee shop et quelques étudiantes ont été mobilisées pour nous aider. Elles ont fait un travail formidable ! Un réel exercice de management pour Romnea et une mise en situation intéressante pour nos pâtissières en herbe !

IMG_1391

IMG_1401

Claire, notre directrice de programme, a pris la parole pour rappeler l’origine de notre projet et de notre nom. Puis deux partenaires sont intervenus. Sopheap Doung, directrice des ressources humaines à l’hôtel Amansara, a souligné les bénéfices pour les étudiantes de pouvoir s’immerger dans de grands hôtels lors de leurs stages et de sa satisfaction quant aux stagiaires de Bayon Pastry School. Ensuite, Antoine Lhomme, Food and Beverage Manager à l’hôtel Héritage, a expliqué pourquoi l’établissement a choisi de se fournir en pains et viennoiseries auprès de l’école.

IMG_1439

IMG_1441

IMG_1444

Des panneaux retraçant l’histoire de l’école de pâtisserie ont été exposés dans le jardin. Vous pouvez les consulter en ligne en cliquant ici.

IMG_1458

Enfin, la fête d’anniversaire du coffee shop était l’occasion idéale de présenter une nouvelle pâtisserie créée spécialement pour notre école par Samuel Potiron, chef pâtissier, à la demande de la Fondation Natan qui soutient notre projet. Cette pâtisserie, appelée elle aussi Natan, est un dôme de mousse à la mangue sur un sablé. Elle a été servie en exclusivité lors de l’événement et est désormais à la carte du coffee shop.

Un grand merci au staff de l’école et aux étudiantes pour leur mobilisation, ainsi qu’aux invités d’avoir été à nos côtés pour cette matinée spéciale !

IMG_1407

, 26 avril 2016

Des nouvelles de l’École de Pâtisserie

Chers amis, Voici les dernières nouvelles du projet de l’École de Pâtisserie. Cela fait maintenant quatre mois que l’Ecole de Pâtisserie a ouvert ses portes à ses 17 premières étudiantes. Et en quatre mois, les filles ont progressé au-delà de nos espérances ! Retour sur ces premières semaines de cours.

Cours de pâtisserie

Avant d’apprendre à cuisiner des gâteaux, il est primordial pour les étudiantes de comprendre et connaitre le monde de la pâtisserie. C’est pourquoi leurs professeurs Sokhoeurn et Sychay leur donnent des cours théoriques : vocabulaire, histoire de la pâtisserie, les types de cuissons, les ingrédients, la sécurité alimentaire…. Les élèves sont régulièrement interrogées sur leurs connaissances théoriques.

 

pastry_gravure  Côté pratique, les étudiantes connaissent désormais une vingtaine de recettes : financier, madeleine, tarte au citron meringuée, mousse chocolat banane, éclair au chocolat, fondant au chocolat, brownie, macarons, cookies…. Au-delà des recettes, elles apprennent également l’importance de la décoration, grâce par exemple à la sculpture de fruits.

 

pastry_girl pastries

Les cours complémentaires

Les étudiantes suivent deux heures de cours d’anglais par jour. Leur niveau progresse de manière globalement satisfaisante, même si les élèves du groupe 1 ont plus de facilités. Au programme : vocabulaire de cuisine, équipement, ustensiles et ingrédients, conjugaison, grammaire et pratique orale. Apres 6 semaines de cours de mathématiques pour réviser les basiques (addition, soustraction, conversion, multiplication et division), les étudiantes suivent désormais des cours d’informatique : Elles apprennent les bases de l’informatique : allumer et éteindre un ordinateur, créer un dossier, créer des documents, les emails, internet, etc….

 

Les stages

pastry_internshipLes filles du groupe 1 reviennent tout juste d’un stage de six semaines. Les 8 étudiantes ont eu la chance de pouvoir se former dans les établissements les plus luxueux de Siem Reap. Durant cette expérience, elles ont pu se familiariser avec un environnement de travail, une cuisine professionnelle et sa cadence, et pratiquer les recettes apprises en cours. Leurs tuteurs étaient tous très contents d’elles, ce qui les a remplies de fierté ! Les étudiantes du groupe 2 ont entamé à leur tour leur stage. Nous tenons à vous renouveler nos remerciements les plus sincères pour votre soutien sans lequel cette grande aventure n’aurait pas été possible.

, 12 février 2015