NGO :

Bayon Pastry School Coffee shop celebrates its first anniversary!

After a well-deserved holiday for Khmer New Year, the team of the pastry school organized an event to celebrate the coffee shop first anniversary.

IMG_1393

 

On the morning of Sunday 24th of April, a party atmosphere prevailed at Bayon Pastry School Coffee shop. About thirty partners of the school (hotels who welcome our students for internships, business clients, suppliers and friends of the NGO) enjoyed a breakfast buffet to discover or rediscover our products.

IMG_1424

Natan Bayon pastry school IMG_1425

Romnea, who manages the coffee shop, and some students were mobilized to help us. They made an astounding work! It was a real management exercise for Romnea and an interesting role-playing for our pastry apprentices!

IMG_1391

IMG_1401

Claire, our program director, took the floor to remind the origin of our project. Then, two partners spoke. Sopheap Doung, Human Resources Manager at Amansara hotel, highlighted the benefits for students about being immersed in big hotels for their internships and her satisfaction about Bayon Pastry School students. Afterwards, Antoine Lhomme, Food and Beverage Manager at Heritage hotel, explained why the establishment chose to be provided with bread and croissants from the school.

IMG_1439

IMG_1441

IMG_1444

Some posters tracing the pastry school’s story were exhibited in the garden. You can see them by clicking here.

IMG_1458

Finally, the anniversary party was the ideal opportunity to present a new pastry that has been created for our school by Samuel Potiron, pastry chef, at the request of Natan Foundation which supports our project. That pastry, called the “Natan”, is a mango mousse dome on a French shortbread. It was served in exclusivity and is now on the coffee shop menu.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Natan

A big thank you to the staff of the school and to the students for their involvement and to the guests for being by our sides for this special morning!

IMG_1407

, 26 April 2016

New volunteers

Alexienne

I am Alexienne, I come from Montpellier, and I just arrived at the Bayon School for a year, to be in charge of the Angkor Academy Project. Before, I worked with children in the Philippines and in Romania. I have a master’s degree in international law and human rights. I can’t wait to explore the Khmer culture with children from the primary school!

Laura

My name is Laura, I have been in Cambodia for 6 months to work as a volunteer graphic designer for a social entreprise. Now, I work with Bayon School and Pastry School as a communication officer. My mother is Cambodian and I discovered her country 2 years ago during a family trip. Since then, I decided to move in Cambodia and to work here as a volunteer.

Volodia

Hello, my name is Volodia, I am 24 years old and I come from Meudon, next to Paris. I joined the Bayon School’s team in August 2014 to coordinate the complementary classes of Pastry School: English, mathematics , IT, accounting, etc. Following my studies European Law, I travelled to Southest Asia for 4 months and I discovered Bayon School and the Pastry School project.

, 30 October 2014

NGO :

Le coffee shop de Bayon Pastry School fête son premier anniversaire !

Au retour des vacances du nouvel an Khmer, l’équipe de l’école de pâtisserie a organisé un événement pour célébrer le 1er anniversaire du coffee shop.

IMG_1393

 

Au matin du dimanche 24 avril régnait une ambiance festive à Bayon Pastry School Coffee shop. Sur un air de saxophone, une trentaine de partenaires de l’école (hôtels qui accueillent nos étudiantes en stage, clients professionnels, prestataires et amis de l’association) ont profité d’un buffet petit déjeuner pour découvrir ou redécouvrir nos produits.

IMG_1424

Natan Bayon pastry school IMG_1425

Romnea, qui gère le coffee shop et quelques étudiantes ont été mobilisées pour nous aider. Elles ont fait un travail formidable ! Un réel exercice de management pour Romnea et une mise en situation intéressante pour nos pâtissières en herbe !

IMG_1391

IMG_1401

Claire, notre directrice de programme, a pris la parole pour rappeler l’origine de notre projet et de notre nom. Puis deux partenaires sont intervenus. Sopheap Doung, directrice des ressources humaines à l’hôtel Amansara, a souligné les bénéfices pour les étudiantes de pouvoir s’immerger dans de grands hôtels lors de leurs stages et de sa satisfaction quant aux stagiaires de Bayon Pastry School. Ensuite, Antoine Lhomme, Food and Beverage Manager à l’hôtel Héritage, a expliqué pourquoi l’établissement a choisi de se fournir en pains et viennoiseries auprès de l’école.

IMG_1439

IMG_1441

IMG_1444

Des panneaux retraçant l’histoire de l’école de pâtisserie ont été exposés dans le jardin. Vous pouvez les consulter en ligne en cliquant ici.

IMG_1458

Enfin, la fête d’anniversaire du coffee shop était l’occasion idéale de présenter une nouvelle pâtisserie créée spécialement pour notre école par Samuel Potiron, chef pâtissier, à la demande de la Fondation Natan qui soutient notre projet. Cette pâtisserie, appelée elle aussi Natan, est un dôme de mousse à la mangue sur un sablé. Elle a été servie en exclusivité lors de l’événement et est désormais à la carte du coffee shop.

Un grand merci au staff de l’école et aux étudiantes pour leur mobilisation, ainsi qu’aux invités d’avoir été à nos côtés pour cette matinée spéciale !

IMG_1407

, 26 avril 2016

Nouveaux volontaires

Alexienne

Je m’appelle Alexienne, je viens de Montpellier et je viens d’arriver à l’école du Bayon pour une année pour m’occuper du projet Angkor Academy. J’ai auparavant travaillé avec des enfants aux Philippines et en Roumanie. J’ai un master II en Droit international et Droits de l’Homme. Je languis de pouvoir explorer la culture khmère avec les enfants de l’école primaire !

Laura

Je m’appelle Laura, je suis arrivée au Cambodge il y a 6 mois pour une mission de bénévolat en tant qu’infographiste pour une entreprise sociale. Je poursuis mon expérience cambodgienne en soutien à la communication de l’École du Bayon et de l’École de Pâtisserie qui vient d’ouvrir. Ma mère est cambodgienne et j’ai découvert son pays il y a 2 ans lors d’un voyage en famille. C’est lors de ce voyage que j’ai décidé d’y travailler en tant que volontaire.

Volodia

Bonjour, je m’appelle Volodia, j’ai 24 ans et je viens de Meudon, à côté de Paris. J’ai rejoint l’équipe de l’Ecole du Bayon en août 2014 pour coordonner les cours complémentaires de l’Ecole de Pâtisserie : anglais, mathématiques, informatique, comptabilité, etc. À la suite de mes quatre ans d’études en droit Européen, qui ne m’ont guère stimulé, j’ai fait un voyage de quatre mois en Asie du Sud-Est, durant lequel j’ai pu découvrir l’Ecole du Bayon et le projet de l’Ecole de Pâtisserie. Tout de suite séduit par ce projet, je suis ravi de pouvoir y contribuer et j’espère apporter autant aux étudiantes que ce qu’elles m’apportent.

, 30 octobre 2014