BUDDING CHAMPIONS

IMG_1089

Set up in 2018, the sports programme at the Bayon Primary School has developed rapidly over the last two and a half years. Every week, our pupils practise different sports at school and participate in matches as well as an official regional school competition. Discover our champions’ exploits in pictures.


 

In February 2018, we decided to introduce weekly PE (Physical Education) lessons for the pupils from Grades 2-6 and recruited a qualified PE teacher; this was in line with our wish to offer a different pedagogical approach, based on the children’s individual needs (complimented by arts and crafts lessons) whilst expanding the traditional PE programme at the school. Since October 2018, we have extended the lessons to Grade 1 pupils. In order to continue to offer a high-quality PE programme, we also increased the number of hours in the weekly timetable 2019-20 from 40 minutes to one hour and 20 minutes.
IMG_1358

Chuon Dorl is our qualified PE teacher, who followed a training program with the association Kampuchea Balopp, which promotes sport in Cambodia).

PE lessons are important as they allow our pupils to develop skills which are not always taught in the other subjects:

  • Team spirit
  • Self-confidence and the idea of surpassing oneself
  • Value of hard work and effort
  • Respect for others and compliance with the rules
  • A sense of initiative and responsibility
  • A senses of commitment.

These lessons are also the time for the children to let off steam and enjoy themselves whilst discovering different sports and fun activities.


At the beginning of the school year 2018, the primary pupils were all given a PE outfit of shorts and a T-Shirt, flocked with the logo of Bayon. These will be renewed in 2020. Furthermore, Bayon School has invested in the installation on the school premises of goalposts and a sand pit for athletics, as well as buying smaller items such as cones, bibs & balls.  Thanks to these investments, the children can now try out all sorts of sports: football, volleyball, long jump, high jump, running.

 

IMG_1072

In 2019, Bayon School participated, for the first time in its history, in the regional school championship, which was organised by the Government for various different sports: football, basketball, volleyball & athletics. Bayon had football teams in the Boys, Girls and Mixed Teams competition.

In 2020, Bayon participated once again but with more children; 30 pupils overall took part, with the Boys’ football team and the mixed athletics team competing in the high jump, long jump, sprint, running, relay and a type of Pentathlon. Before the big event, our champions underwent specific training sessions and participated in two football matches against other primary schools, both of which they won.

IMG_1326

In 2020, and for the second year running, our football team unfortunately did not manage to get past the first round, but we are not giving up and are already preparing next year’s competition with great enthusiasm. Our Athletics team, on the other hand, was more successful in their first participation with excellent results:

  • 1st Place in Boys Long Jump
  • 3rd Place in Girls’ Relay
  • 4th Place in Girls’ High Jump
  • 4th Place in Girls’ Sprint
  • 4th Place in Girls’ Running

The school championship is the only chance that many of our pupils have to participate in real competition conditions. It is most certainly a long-awaited event in the school calendar and they represent their school colours with tremendous pride. The popularity of the activities and the progression of the children in such a short time really underlines the importance of the sporting activities at the school and showcases its success.

IMG_1355

For the school year 2020-21, Bayon School plans to continue investing in its sporting infrastructure, in particular a volleyball court, the renovation of the sand pit and the purchase of hurdles. In addition, we would like to register pupils in different sports in the school championship, giving more children the possibility to compete, the aim being of course to participate and have fun… whilst trying to bring home as many medals as possible!

, 2 July 2020

GRAINE DE CHAMPIONS !

 

IMG_1089

 

Le programme sportif de l’école primaire du Bayon est né début 2018 et s’est rapidement développé depuis 2 ans et demi. Les élèves pratiquent de façon hebdomadaire de multiples sports à l’école et sont engagés durant l’année dans différents matchs ainsi qu’une compétition officielle : le championnat régional inter-écoles. Découvrez les prouesses de nos champions en images !


Afin de compléter le programme classique suivi à l’école primaire du Bayon et dans notre volonté d’une approche pédagogique différente, centrée sur les besoins de l’élève et qui se matérialise également par des cours d’arts, les cours de sport hebdomadaires ont été introduits en février 2018 pour les Grades 2 à 6, avec le recrutement d’un professeur de sport. Ces cours ont été par la suite élargis au Grade 1 à la rentrée scolaire d’octobre 2018. Pour poursuivre ces efforts et proposer à nos élèves un programme sportif de qualité, nous avons aussi augmenté le temps consacré dans l’emploi du temps en 2019-2020 en passant de 40 minutes à 1 heure 20, chaque semaine.

IMG_1358
Chuon Dorl est notre professeur de sport diplômé et formé notamment par l’association Kampuchea Balopp, qui fait la promotion du sport au Cambodge
Les cours de sports permettent aux élèves de développer des aptitudes qui ne sont pas forcément enseignées dans les autres matières :
  • Esprit d’équipe
  • Confiance et dépassement de soi
  • Goût de l’effort
  • Respect des autres et des règles
  • Esprite d’initiative et de responsabilité
  • Sens de l’engagement.

Ces cours sont aussi un moment pour se dépenser et s’amuser en découvrant différents sports et activités ludiques.


A la rentrée 2018, tous les élèves du primaire ont reçu un uniforme de sport floqué à l’effigie du Bayon (short et t-shirt). Ces uniformes seront renouvelés à la rentrée 2020. L’école du Bayon a de plus consenti de gros investissements pour faire de l’école un endroit adapté à la pratique sportive. Des équipements sportifs ont été installés, notamment des buts de foot et un bac à sable pour l’athlétisme, et du petit matériel sportif a été acheté (plots, chasubles, ballons). Grâce à ces investissements, les élèves peuvent maintenant s’essayer à de nombreux sports : football, volleyball, saut en longueur, saut en hauteur, course à pied.

IMG_1072

En 2019, pour la première fois de son histoire, l’Ecole du Bayon a participé au championnat régional inter-écoles, organisé par le Gouvernement et avec de nombreux sports au programme : football, basketball, volleyball, athlétisme. En football, une équipe masculine, une équipe féminine et une équipe mixte se sont engagées dans l’aventure.

En 2020, l’expérience a été renouvelée et encore plus d’enfants ont pu participer à cet événement. Ils étaient 30 inscrits répartis entre l’équipe de football masculine et l’équipe d’athlétisme mixte avec plusieurs disciplines au programme : saut en hauteur, saut en longueur, sprint, course à pied, relais et épreuves mixtes (s’apparentant à un pentathlon). En amont de la compétition, des sessions d’entraînement spécifiques pour nos petits champions ont été organisées, avec entre autres deux matchs de football contre d’autres écoles primaires à l’issue desquels notre équipe est sortie doublement victorieuse.

 

IMG_1326

 

En 2020, l’équipe de football n’a pour la 2ème année malheureusement pas passée le premier tour mais nous n’abandonnons pas et préparons l’année prochaine avec enthousiasme. En athlétisme, pour notre première participation, les résultats ont été excellents, avec notamment 2 podiums et trois 4èmes places :

  • 1er en saut en longueur chez les garçons
  • 3ème en relais féminin
  • 4ème en saut en hauteur chez les filles
  • 4ème en sprint chez les filles
  • 4ème en course à pied chez les filles.

Le championnat inter-écoles est pour beaucoup d’élèves l’unique occasion de faire du sport en conditions réelles de compétition ! C’est un moment de l’année particulièrement attendu par les élèves, au cours duquel ils représentent fièrement les couleurs de leur école. L’engouement et la progression des enfants en si peu de temps confirment l’importance et la réussite des activités sportives proposées à l’école.

IMG_1355

 

Pour l’année scolaire 2020-2021, l’Ecole du Bayon souhaite poursuivre ses investissements dans les équipements sportifs, notamment à travers l’installation d’un terrain de volleyball, la rénovation du bac à sable et l’achat de haies. De plus, nous aimerions inscrire les élèves dans différents sports au championnat inter-écoles, pour donner la chance à plus d’enfants de participer à cet événement. Où évidemment l’objectif sera de participer et de s’amuser… en  tentant de rapporter le plus de médailles possibles !

, 2 juillet 2020