SMART AXIATA – Partner of Bayon’s School

Logo SMAPRT

With the COVID-19 crisis, the Bayon School has experienced, and is still experiencing, a very complicated, unprecedented period. We have had to adapt and react quickly in order to support our pupils and to allow them to continue their schooling. The students at the Pastry School had to return to their homes as early as 9th March, with nobody knowing how long the situation would all last.


Maintaining contact with the students

For the first two weeks, the teachers and social team did everything they could to maintain contact, through phone calls and by sending work to be done at home. It became obvious very quickly however that most students did not have a smartphone or a good internet connection and that we needed to look for a solution with local partners in order to equip the students, thus enabling us to set up a structured distance learning programme.


Support from Smart Axiata

In partnership with Sala Baï, our counterpart in Siem Reap for young people’s professional training, we contacted Smart Axiata, the leading mobile telephone provider in Cambodia, who had set up the endowment fund “1 Million USD COVID-19 Relief Fund” to help the local associations deal with the challenges of the crisis.

“While we connect millions of people daily with each other and the Internet, we recognize the immense responsibility we have to play in helping the Kingdom as well as various sectors and communities recover from the significant impact COVID-19 has caused,” said Thomas Hundt, Chief Executive Officer of Smart Axiata

aIMG_1354

The Bayon School and Sala Baï submitted a request, which was approved by Smart Axiata, for a donation of 186 smartphones with 5 months’ credit, allowing an internet connection, 186 headphones, 15 tablets, 6 laptop computers and 5 overhead projectors. This exceptional donation has allowed our two NGOs to connect our students to our teachers and carry out live distance learning, thanks to high-performance tools.

aIMG_1305


Once again, we would like to thank Smart Axiata, the leading mobile telecommunications operator in Cambodia, for this donation, which allows our students to continue their schooling at a distance, by receiving regularly videos and lessons online with our teachers who have stayed in Siem Reap.

 

, 29 September 2020

SMART AXIATA – Partenaire de l’Ecole du Bayon

Logo SMAPRT

Face au Covid, l’Ecole du Bayon a vécu, et vit encore aujourd’hui une période très difficile et surtout inédite. Nous avons dû nous adapter et réagir vite pour continuer à accompagner les enfants et les jeunes et permettre de poursuivre leur enseignement. Les étudiantes de l’école de pâtisserie ont dû rentrer chez elles dès le 9 mars 2020 et personne ne savait combien de temps cela durerait.


Le maintien de la relation avec les étudiantes.

Durant les deux premières semaines, les professeurs et l’équipe sociale ont tout fait pour maintenir le lien grâce à des appels téléphoniques et l’envoi de quelques devoirs à faire à la maison. Mais rapidement, nous avons fait face à un constat : pour la plupart, les étudiantes ne sont pas en possession d’un smartphone ni d’une connexion internet de qualité. Nous avons cherché des solutions auprès de partenaires locaux pour les équiper et pouvoir mettre en place un enseignement à distance structuré.


Soutien de Smart Axiata

En partenariat avec Sala Baï, notre homologue sur Siem Reap dans le domaine de la formation professionnelle des jeunes, nous nous sommes tournés vers le premier opérateur de téléphonie mobile au Cambodge : Smart Axiata. En effet, la compagnie a ouvert un fond de dotation « 1 Million USD COVID-19 Reflief Fund » pour aider les associations locales à faire face à la crise.

Thomas Hundt, Directeur de Smart Axiata au Cambodge explique : « Alors que nous permettons à des millions de personnes d’être connectés chaque jour entre eux et à internet, nous avons aussi une immense responsabilité d’aider le royaume du Cambodge à faire face aux dégâts causés par le COVID-19. »

aIMG_1354

Ainsi l’Ecole du Bayon & Sala Baï ont monté une demande de dotation qui a été approuvé par Smart Axiata et qui a permis la donation de 191 smartphones avec 4 mois de crédit permettant d’accéder à internet, 15 tablettes, 6 PC portables et 5 rétroprojecteurs. Une dotation exceptionnelle pour nos deux ONG qui nous a permis de connecter nos étudiantes avec nos professeurs et de réaliser des cours en direct grâce à des outils performants.

aIMG_1305


Une nouvelle fois, nous adressons à Smart Axiata, principal opérateur de téléphonie mobile au Cambodge, un immense MERCI pour cette dotation qui a permis à nos étudiantes de continuer à poursuivre leur enseignement à distance en recevant régulièrement des vidéos et des cours en direct avec leurs professeurs restés à Siem Reap.

 

 

, 29 septembre 2020