First parents meeting at the primary school

On our new school director Sreyroth’s initiative, we organized a parents meeting on the 10th of February for the grades 1 to 3 and on the 11th for the grades 4 to 6.

 

Well prepared together by the primary school director and the NGO staff, the meeting was mainly about introducing the new school policy, which has been reviewed in order to respect our ambitions in terms of quality of education. Concerning hygiene rules, absences or holidays, the rules were explained so that the parents relay them every day at home.

 

The school policy was distributed in Khmer to every parent, which enabled us to notice that some of them were illiterate and sitting in a school for the first time. Thus, the policy was read aloud so that each of them could understand it and react at the end of the meeting. Then, each parent signed it, some of them being helped by their children.

Parents meeting

The meeting was also the opportunity to introduce the new accident insurance that covers every pupil during the school hours.

 

Eventually, our vice-president Kong made a long animated speech about the importance of education and some teachers reminded the parents about the importance learning English, a subject that is not to be neglected!

Parents meeting Kong

The meeting ended after a Q&A session between parents and teachers. We are very happy about it because over 150 parents attended (some of them even didn’t go to work). They were globally glad to meet the education team and showed an interest in future meetings.

Parents meeting Bayon

, 17 February 2016

Première réunion de parents d’élèves à l’école primaire

A l’initiative de notre nouvelle directrice Sreyroth nommée à la rentrée 2015-2016, nous avons organisé une réunion avec les parents des élèves des grades 1 à 3 le mercredi 10 février et des grades 4 à 6 le jeudi 11 février.
 

Bien préparée conjointement par la directrice de l’école et par l’équipe de l’ONG, la réunion avait pour principal motif de présenter aux parents le nouveau règlement intérieur, revu pour respecter nos ambitions sur la qualité d’éducation. Concernant les règles d’hygiène, les situations d’absence ou encore les dates de congés scolaires, les règles ont été présentées en insistant sur le fait qu’elles devaient être relayées quotidiennement à la maison.

 

Le règlement a été distribué en khmer à tous les parents, ce qui nous a permis de constater que beaucoup d’entre eux étaient illettrés et s’asseyaient sur un banc d’école pour la première fois. Il a alors été lu à haute voix afin que chacun puisse bien le comprendre et réagir à la fin de la réunion. Chaque parent a ensuite signé le règlement, certains aidés par leur enfant.

 

Parents meeting

La réunion était également l’occasion de présenter la nouvelle assurance accident qui couvre chaque élève pendant les heures d’école.

 

Enfin, Kong, notre vice-président khmer, a fait un long discours très animé sur l’importance de l’éducation et quelques professeurs ont rappelé l’importance d’apprendre l’Anglais, un cours à ne pas négliger !

Parents meeting Kong

La réunion s’est achevée après un temps de questions-réponses entre parents et professeurs. Nous en tirons un bilan positif puisque plus de 150 parents étaient présents (dont certains ont renoncé à se rendre au travail pour y assister). Ils étaient dans l’ensemble très contents de rencontrer l’équipe pédagogique et ont manifesté leur intérêt pour de prochaines réunions.

Parents meeting Bayon

, 17 février 2016