PORTRAIT OF SOKLY:
OUR TEACHER FOR
THE PASTRY SCHOOL

Sokly is 34 years old and mother of 2 children. She joined the team in February 2017.
Before, she was a cook in a Khmer restaurant that she had opened herself. Even if it was small, she always loved cooking and took a great deal of pleasure from preparing traditional Cambodian dishes for her customers.


WEB-Sokli

After advice from a friend, she decided to try the entry contest to get into the prestigious École d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme Paul Dubrule. She completed it successfully and followed the pastry training.
After graduating from Paul Dubrule in 2016, she also enrolled in a cake decoration training in Sihanoukville as well as with the Vietnamese company Cream to complete her skill set.
She was then recruited by Brown Coffee, a Coffee shop Cambodia chain famous throughout the country. She worked 7 months in one of their cafés and met a few students who were there for their internship for a school that was growing in popularity: Bayon Pastry School.
Her old pastry teacher at Paul Dubrule vividly recommended her to Sokhoeurn, our pastry school director. What was the essential quality that convinced Sokhoeurn? Her skills in the preparation of vienoisseries and breads.
WEB49203245_360365381178717_9056987035327266816_n

Bayon School was an opportunity for her to exceed her expectations. She now teaches all the classes linked to pastry, practical and theoretical. She is very happy to be able to share her knowledge with her students who are very curious, attentive and diligent. Day after d ay, she tries to make her classes more interactive by creating a variety of activities and workshops. To successfully lead this project, she does not hesitate to ask for help from ex-teachers and her friends.
The main objective for her is that the students enjoy their training and have the platform to showcase their creativity. She is also committed to the importance of post-training recruitment for the students. It is very important for the students to find a stimulating position, that they enjoy and have a salary which permits them to live and to help their families.
Sometimes she feels like a second mother for the students who decided to study pastry far away from their homes. She listens to them, helps them and is always available. `
Like every year, the end of the year is particularly difficult for her as she has to say goodbye to the students that she guided and supported all year. Unfortunately, the transition with the following promotion of students is rarely very long.
WEB_MG_9839

The new academic year started at the start of September and Sokly already has many ideas of games to teach pastry in ludic way and in order to share a maximum of knowledge in the simplest fashion.
Well done Sokly and thank you for your investment!
, 17 September 2019

PORTRAIT DE SOKLY : NOTRE PROFESSEUR A L’ECOLE DE PATISSERIE

Sokly a 34 ans et est mère de 2 enfants. Elle a rejoint l’équipe en février 2017.
Auparavant, elle était cuisinière dans un restaurant Khmer qu’elle avait elle-même ouvert. Même si ce dernier était petit, elle a toujours adoré cuisiner et prenait beaucoup de plaisir à préparer les plats traditionnels cambodgiens pour ses clients.


WEB-Sokli

C’est sous les conseils d’une amie qu’elle a décidé de tenter le concours d’entrée à la prestigieuse École d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme Paul Dubrule. Elle l’a réussi avec brio et a suivi la formation de pâtisserie.
Diplômée de Paul Dubrule en 2016, elle a également suivi une formation pour la décoration de gâteaux à Sihanoukville et une autre avec la société vietnamienne Cream pour compléter ses connaissances.
Elle a ensuite été recrutée par Brown Coffee, une chaine de Coffee shop cambodgienne réputée dans tout le pays. Elle a travaillé 7 mois dans un de leur café et y a croisé des étudiantes en stage venant d’une école qui commençait à se faire connaître : l’école de pâtisserie du Bayon.
Son ancien professeur de pâtisserie à Paul Dubrule l’a vivement recommandé auprès de Sokhoeurn, notre directrice de l’école de pâtisserie. La qualité essentielle qui a convaincu Sokhoeurn? Ses compétences dans la préparation des viennoiseries et des pains.
WEB49203245_360365381178717_9056987035327266816_n

L’école du Bayon a été pour elle une opportunité qui dépassait ses espérances. Elle y enseigne aujourd’hui toutes les matières liées à la pâtisserie, pratiques comme théoriques. Elle est très heureuse de pouvoir transmettre son savoir à des étudiantes curieuses, attentives et appliquées. Jour après jour, elle tente de rendre ses cours toujours plus interactifs en créant des activités et des ateliers variés. Pour cela, elle n’hésite pas à demander des conseils à ses anciens professeurs et amis.
L’essentiel pour elle est que les étudiantes prennent plaisir durant la formation et laissent exprimer leur créativité. Elle attache également beaucoup d’importance au recrutement post-formation. Il est en effet indispensable que les filles trouvent un poste stimulant, qui leur plaise et qui leur procure un salaire suffisant pour vivre et aider leur famille.
Elle se sent parfois un peu comme une deuxième maman pour ces étudiantes qui ont décidé de venir étudier la pâtisserie loin de leur foyer. Elle les écoute, les conseille et se rend toujours disponible.
Comme à chaque fois, la fin de l’année est particulièrement difficile pour elle car il faut dire au revoir aux étudiantes qu’elle a guidées et épaulées. Mais heureusement, la transition avec la promotion suivante n’est jamais très longue.
WEB_MG_9839

La nouvelle année scolaire a débuté début septembre et Sokly a déjà plein d’idées de jeux pour enseigner la pâtisserie de façon ludique et partager le plus de connaissances possible en toute simplicité.
Bravo Sokly et merci pour ton investissement quotidien !
, 17 septembre 2019