SCHOOL UNIFORMS PRODUCED BY THE MOTHERS OF BAYON

During her last visit, Babeth, our ambassador in Singapore had suggested to me the idea of producing the uniforms for our students by the mothers themselves. Motivated to invest myself in a project on the field, closer to our students and their families, I decided to carry this project and to make it possible within the association.

WEB-IMG_1008

Normally purchased from an external provider, we have, many times, been disappointed by the quality of the uniforms we bought: issues with delivery, bad quality… Aside from these problems, we also felt it was the opportunity that represented this project that helped us set it up.
On the same model as the green gardens project that was installed in the families to provide food for the school canteen, the main idea was to give an extra salary to the family, and therefore improve their quality of living.
For this launch year, we decided to produce only the uniforms of the primary school and to buy the ones for the secondary school and pastry school from an external provider. The objective is, for next year, to produce all the uniforms.

WEB-IMG_1004

The first step for this project was to recruit the “sewer” mothers. In order to accomplish this, I asked for help from the person who knows the families best: Soky, our social officer at the primary school. She helped me identify families who most needed this extra income and amongst these, 3 mothers had sewing skills: Sokheng, Mom and Mai.
Sokheng lives in a small house made of metal in a village opposite Angkor Wat with her husband and her two children. Her daughter Panha, is 6 years old and will be entering Grade 2 in October. Her son is only 4 months old, and it is very difficult for her to feed him correctly as she has no income.

WEB-69103280_2618484784882395_6742295491540680704_n

Mom lives in a big house on the side of the river that goes through the temples’ enclosure. She lives with her four nephews and nieces. They are enrolled in Bayon. She is the only person in the household to have a form of income. She is therefore in charge of buying the food and to provide for the needs of her family.
Mai has 3 children: her two daughters are enrolled in Bayon primary school, Sopheak in Grade 5 and Sreyka in Grade 4, and her son, Kvan, aged 3 is for now too young to join the benches of school.
These three women all live in very precarious conditions and did not hesitate to seize the opportunity of an income. When we visited their homes to offer the chance to participate in the production of the uniforms, they all accepted without hesitation. However, their skills were insufficient, we had to ask help from Lan, a professional sewer.

WEB-IMG_1011

The purchase of the fabric and accessories was done at the market, the cut of the fabric to the right size and especially the training of the mothers for the sewing of the pieces, Lan is an essential member of this chain of production for this first year. Also living in precarious conditions, she also benefitted from this project. Next year, we will make sure the mothers take charge of the whole chain of production.
To start the conception, we needed to invest in new equipment: a sewing machine, 3 irons, a special machine to sew the buttons… Luckily, the donators supported us!
At this date in early September, the production continues: we are finishing the uniforms for Grades 3, 4, 5, and 6 and we are going to start soon the uniforms for Kindergarten, Grades 1 and 2. Objective: 490 uniforms for the 1rst of October!
Phorn, the director of the primary school and Jeanne, our fundraising officer, bring me essential help for the tracking of the production. We visit the 4 women invested in the project 2 times a week to make sure they are not missing anything and to collect the uniforms that have been produced already. It is very encouraging!
We are impatient to see the students in their uniforms produced by the mothers of Bayon.

, 25 September 2019

LES UNIFORMES SCOLAIRES PRODUITS PAR LES MAMANS DU BAYON

Lors de sa dernière visite, Babeth, notre ambassadrice à Singapour m’avait soufflée l’idée de faire produire les uniformes de nos élèves par les mamans elles-mêmes. Désireuse de m’investir dans un projet sur le terrain au plus près de nos élèves et de leur famille, j’ai décidé de porter ce projet et de le faire naître au sein de l’association.

WEB-IMG_1008

Habituellement achetés chez un fournisseur extérieur, nous avons été, à de nombreuses reprises, mécontents de la qualité des uniformes fournis : problèmes de livraison, mauvaise qualité… Au-delà de ces soucis, c’est surtout l’opportunité que représentait ce projet qui a motivé sa mise en place.
Sur le même modèle que les potagers installés dans les familles de nos élèves pour approvisionner la cantine de l’école, l’idée principale est de fournir aux familles un salaire supplémentaire et donc, d’améliorer leurs conditions de vie.
Pour cette année de lancement, nous avons décidé de produire uniquement les uniformes de l’école primaire et d’acheter ceux des étudiants du secondaire et de l’école de pâtisserie à un fournisseur extérieur. L’objectif sera, pour l’année prochaine, de produire l’intégralité des uniformes.

WEB-IMG_1004

La première étape de ce projet a été le recrutement des mamans « couturières ». Pour ce faire, j’ai demandé l’aide de la personne qui connait le mieux nos familles : Soky, notre assistante sociale à l’école primaire. Elle m’a permis d’identifier les familles qui avaient le plus besoin d’un revenu complémentaire et parmi elles, 3 mamans avec des compétences en couture : Sokheng, Mom et Hai.
Sokheng vit dans une petite maison de tôles dans un village en face d’Angkor Wat avec son mari et ses deux enfants. Sa fille Panha, a 6 ans et entrera en Grade 2 en octobre prochain. Son fils n’a, quant à lui, que 4 mois, et il est très difficile pour elle de le nourrir correctement étant donné qu’elle n’a aucun revenu.

WEB-69103280_2618484784882395_6742295491540680704_n

Mom vit dans une grande maison au bord de la rivière qui traverse l’enceinte des temples d’Angkor. Elle vit avec ses 4 neveux et nièces. Ils sont scolarisés à l’école du Bayon. Elle est la seule personne dans le foyer générant un revenu. C’est donc elle qui est en charge d’acheter de la nourriture et de subvenir aux besoins.
Hai a 3 enfants : ses deux filles sont scolarisées à l’école primaire du Bayon, Sopheak en Grade 5 et Sreyka en Grade 4, et son fils, Kvan, âgé de 3 ans est pour le moment trop jeune pour rejoindre les bancs de l’école.
Ces 3 femmes vivent toutes dans des conditions très précaires et n’ont pas hésité à saisir l’opportunité d’une rémunération. Quand nous sommes allés à leur domicile pour leur proposer de participer à la conception des uniformes, elles ont toutes les trois accepté sans hésitation. Toutefois, leurs compétences étant insuffisantes, il nous a fallu demander l’aide de Lan, une couturière professionnelle.

WEB-IMG_1011

Achat des tissus et accessoires au marché, découpe des tissus à la bonne taille et surtout formation des mamans pour la couture des pièces, Lan est un maillon essentiel dans notre chaîne de production pour cette première année. Vivant elle-même dans des conditions précaires, elle bénéficie ainsi également de ce projet. L’année prochaine, nous ferons en sorte que les mamans prennent en charge toute la chaîne de production.
Pour lancer la conception, nous avons eu besoin d’investir dans du nouveau matériel : une machine à coudre, 3 fers à repasser, une machine spéciale pour la couture des boutons… Heureusement de généreux donateurs nous ont soutenus !
A la date de début septembre, la production suit son cours : nous terminons les uniformes de grades 3, 4, 5 et 6 et nous allons bientôt commencer ceux pour les élèves de maternelle, grades 1 et 2. Objectif = 490 uniformes pour le 1er octobre !
Phorn, le directeur de l’école primaire et Jeanne, notre responsable de collecte, m’apportent une aide précieuse pour le suivi de la production. Nous rendons visite 2 fois par semaines aux 4 femmes investies dans le projet pour s’assurer qu’elles ne manquent de rien et collecter les uniformes produits. C’est très encourageant !
Nous avons tous hâte de voir les élèves dans les uniformes produits par les mamans du Bayon.

, 25 septembre 2019