THE DINNER LADIES OF BAYON

Cuisinières

Working behind the scenes to feed 250 children every day !

Elodie’s canteen was set up in 2014 to avoid sending the children home at lunchtime as well as to offer them a nutritious meal. Each day, the canteen feeds the 250 pupils who come to the primary school and, since 2018, is supplied mainly with organic vegetables by the farmers who participate in the Green Project. The canteen is financed to a great extent by the association “Le Rêve d’Elo” in France.


Interview with Nyohi, the manager of the canteen

Nyohi kindly offered to meet me at 8 o’clock in the morning at the primary school between two batches of rice, whilst she was waiting for the delivery of the vegetables. Nyohi is about 50 years old and you can see in her eyes and her attitude that she has got a certain amount of experience – feeding 250 pupils is not a particularly daunting task for her. She explained that, “Before, I used to cater for big events, such as weddings, funerals, religious festivals…I had to prepare meals sometimes for over 1000 guests with several different main dishes.”. Nyohi learnt to cook on the job, starting as an assistant to more experienced women. She then had the opportunity to join Bayon in 2014.

119843189_2396686260637555_440114589794673281_n

She reminded me that, at the beginning, the orders were not placed as they are today. She used to deal with suppliers who would deliver whole pigs, that she would then have to cut up herself, or kilos of live fish, that would need cleaning and gutting. Over the years, the organisation and the quantities required have changed and so, together with her team, she has been able to find suppliers who take care of a lot of the initial preparation themselves before delivery.


Feeding 250 children every morning and every lunchtime.

Work starts at about 5 am with the preparation and cooking of the typical Khmer “bobor”, a sort of rice soup which is accompanied by fried fish or hard boiled eggs. Even if the day starts early, the team is quickly rewarded when they see the children sometimes serve themselves third or even fourth helpings. This breakfast is essential for these children, who very often leave home on an empty stomach.

Distribution ptit dej


Prahok, the French cheese of Cambodia.

In answer to my question “What do the children like eating the best?”, I get the reply “Prahok, of course!” This traditional and iconic Cambodian dish is a type of pâté made from fermented fish. The technique for making it allows the families to keep fish for several months, if not several years. It is sometimes called French cheese and is eaten with raw vegetables and rice. Very salty, it is, like durian fruit or a good camembert, certainly an acquired taste, but it would seem that the children absolutely love it, as Nyohi knows only too well. Prahok figures on the menu at least twice a month!

 

dav


The much-needed canteen

Served with meat or fish, 5,700 kg of rice and almost 6,000 kg of organic vegetables, coming from the farmers of the Green Project, are distributed every year via Elodie’s Canteen. These meals ensure that the pupils of the Bayon School get at least two square meals a day, allowing them to concentrate better in class. At home, the parents are not always around and the saucepans are sometimes empty… Bayon School took the decision to feed their pupils in order to maximise their chances of succes.

 

, 29 September 2020

LES CANTINIERES DU BAYON

Cuisinières

Travailler dans l’ombre pour nourrir chaque jour 250 enfants !

La Cantine d’Elodie a été créée en 2014 avec pour objectif d’éviter aux enfants de rentrer chez eux à l’heure du déjeuner et surtout de leur fournir un vrai repas complet. Elle permet de nourrir chaque jour les 250 enfants scolarisés au sein de l’école primaire, et depuis 2018, elle s’approvisionne en grande majorité avec les légumes produits de façon organique par les farmers impliquées dans le projet des potagers du Bayon. Elle est financée en majeure partie grâce à l’association Le Rêve d’Elo en France.


Entretien avec Nyohi, responsable de la cantine.

Nyohi accepte gentiment de me recevoir entre deux cuissons de riz, vers 8h à l’école primaire. Elle attend la livraison des légumes. C’est une femme d’une cinquantaine d’année. On sent dans son regard et dans son attitude qu’elle a une certaine expérience et que le nombre de 250 enfants à nourrir ne l’impressionne pas vraiment. C’est d’ailleurs ce qu’elle me confirme : « Avant je travaillais pour des évènements, des mariages, des enterrements, des fêtes religieuses… Je devais prévoir des repas pour parfois plus de 1000 convives avec plusieurs plats différents. ». Nyohi s’est formée à la cuisine sur le tas, en travaillant comme assistante auprès de femmes déjà plus expérimentées. Puis elle a eu l’occasion de rejoindre la cantine de l’Ecole du Bayon en 2014.

119843189_2396686260637555_440114589794673281_n

Au début, elle me rappelle que les commandes ne se passaient pas vraiment comme aujourd’hui. Elle faisait appel à des fournisseurs qui lui livraient des cochons entiers qu’elle devait découper elle-même, ou bien des kilos de poissons encore vivants. Avec les années, l’organisation et les quantités nécessaires se sont ajustées et elles et son équipe ont trouvé des fournisseurs qui leur mâchent le travail en prédécoupant tout ce qui peut l’être.


Nourrir 250 enfants tous les matins et tous les midis.

Le travail commence vers 5h du matin avec la cuisson du « bobor », cette bouillie traditionnelle khmer, une sorte de soupe de riz que l’on accompagne généralement de poisson frit ou d’œufs durs. Même si les journées commencent tôt, elles sont vite récompensées de leur effort lorsqu’elles voient les jeunes adolescents se resservir parfois 3 ou 4 fois le matin. Ce petit-déjeuner est plus qu’utile pour ces enfants qui partent souvent le ventre vide de chez eux et Nyohi me le confirme.

Distribution ptit dej


Le prahok, le French cheese du Cambodge.

A ma question « Qu’est-ce que préfère manger les enfants ? Le prahok bien sûr ! »  Ce plat traditionnel cambodgien est une sorte de pâté confectionné à base de poisson fermenté. Emblème de la cuisine du pays, sa technique de fabrication permet aux familles de conserver le poisson pendant plusieurs mois, voire plusieurs années. Très salé, il est parfois appelé French cheese et il se mange accompagné de légumes crus et de riz. Tout comme le durian ou le bon camembert, il faut savoir apprécier le prahok ! Il semble que les enfants en raffolent et Nyohy le sait bien, alors au moins deux fois par mois, à la cantine, c’est prahok !

 

dav


Une cantine plus que nécessaire.

5700 kg de riz et près de 6000 kg de légumes organiques provenant des potagers sont distribués chaque année au sein de la cantine d’Elodie. Accompagné de viande ou de poisson, ces repas pris par les élèves de l’Ecole du Bayon sont l’assurance qu’ils ont au moins accès à deux repas complets par jour et permet de maintenir leur concentration en classe. A la maison, le parent responsable n’est pas toujours présent, les casseroles sont parfois vides… L’Ecole du Bayon a fait le choix de nourrir les élèves qu’elle scolarise pour mettre toutes les chances de leur côté.

 

 

, 29 septembre 2020