The “green garden” project: our volunteer viewpoint

“For more than one year, nine women get up every day to feed the 250 students of Bayon School in vegetables. Deliveries of products to the Elodie’s canteen, watering, crop maintenance, compost and natural insecticides preparation… their days are very busy! Throughout the plantations, trainings and workshops, they acquire the essential skills to make the project and their personal satisfaction possible.
Engaged full time in this work, it is most of the time in their garden with a spade in hand that I greet them when I come to their place for the weekly visit. Welcomed by a big smile, my arrival is an opportunity for them to stop focusing on their vegetables. Then begins a conversation supported by the translator recruited for the project: checking of the plantation conditions, advices on the type of treatments to choose in case of diseases or insects attacks… Together, we learn daily how to react to unforeseen events due to chemical-free agriculture.
P1040578-WEB

During each visit we take time to address all topics: supplying seeds, providing small equipment to facilitate the work, reminding the delivery schedule. This technical support is essential but it is only one part of the job. Get news from the families, congratulate them to maintain willingness to continue, share experiences to create a sense of being part of a community, all these little things are part of our mission. Because each family has its own story, each visit has its anecdote. It’s important to keep in mind that sometimes everything does not work exactly as we planned or we would like. Thanks to the “green garden” project, we help families living in a difficult environment and naturally we put their needs first.
P1030740-WEB

This project is more than just a vegetable story! It is the upheaval of these women daily lives and an opportunity for them to gain real responsibilities and dignity through their work.
Each Wednesday, we organize meetings at Bayon Primary School during which our program becomes meaningful. Some are well prepared, others are always late, and each one with their own character, they come to sell their weekly harvest and to get paid for what they have delivered. Then, we elaborate the menu of the following week with the cook of the school. All gathered around a table, we can feel an incredible energy when they proudly announce their upcoming production. This energy provides to each the desire and the enthusiasm to continue and go further. Beyond the cultural differences and the language barrier, I feel we understand each other perfectly. This project is beautiful, gratifying, and fully deserves the effort and resources invested.”
, 27 March 2019

Le projet « potagers » vu par notre volontaire

« Depuis plus d’un an, neuf femmes se lèvent chaque jour pour nourrir au quotidien les 250 élèves de l’École du Bayon. Livraisons des légumes à la cantine d’Élodie, arrosage, entretien des cultures, préparation de compost, d’insecticides naturels, les journées sont bien remplies. Au fil des plantations, des conseils, des ateliers, elles acquièrent l’expérience essentielle au bon fonctionnement du projet et à leur satisfaction personnelle.
Engagées dans ce travail à temps plein, c’est souvent dans leur jardin, la bêche à la main, que je les salue lorsque j’arrive chez elle pour la visite hebdomadaire. Un grand sourire en guise d’accueil, mon arrivée est entre autre l’occasion pour elles de lever le nez de leurs légumes. Commence alors un échange appuyé par le traducteur engagé pour le projet. Vérification de l’état des plantations, conseils sur les traitements à suivre en cas de maladies ou attaques par des insectes. Ensembles, nous apprenons au quotidien comment réagir aux imprévus inévitables d’une agriculture sans produits chimiques.
P1040578-WEB

Nous prenons le temps à chaque visite d’aborder tous les sujets : apport de graines, de petits matériels pour faciliter le travail, rappel des livraisons prévues. Cet accompagnement technique essentiel n’est pourtant qu’une partie du travail. Prendre des nouvelles de la famille, féliciter pour préserver la motivation, favoriser le partage d’expérience afin de créer une vraie communauté, toutes ces petites choses font partie intégrante de la mission. Car à chaque famille son histoire, à chaque visite son anecdote. Alors il est important de toujours garder à l’esprit que, parfois, tout ne fonctionne pas exactement comme prévu, tout n’avance pas comme on le souhaiterait. Grâce aux potagers, nous aidons des familles dont le contexte social est souvent difficile, et celui-ci passe bien entendu avant toute chose.
P1030740-WEB

Ce projet, c’est bien plus qu’une histoire de légumes ! C’est le bouleversement du quotidien de ces femmes qui désormais ont une réelle responsabilité, c’est l’occasion pour elles de gagner en dignité par le travail. Le mercredi, dans les locaux de l’école, nous nous réunissons pour le rendez-vous hebdomadaire durant lequel le programme prend alors tout son sens. Certaines bien apprêtées, d’autres toujours en retard (l’un va d’ailleurs avec l’autre), chacune avec son caractère, vient vendre ses légumes pour la semaine suivante et récupérer ce qui lui est dû. Avec la cuisinière de l’école, nous élaborons alors le menu des jours à venir. Toutes réunies autour de cette table, une énergie incroyable jaillit lorsqu’elles annoncent avec fierté leur production à venir. Cette énergie comble les appréhensions, les baisses de motivations et redonne à chacun l’envie de continuer et d’avancer. Au-delà des différences culturelles et de la barrière de la langue, par le regard, on se comprend : ce projet est beau, valorisant, et vaut pleinement l’effort et les moyens investis. »
, 27 mars 2019