Recruit Students – Difficult choice

Etuidantes 1

For the last six years, the Bayon Pastry and Baking School has offered a free skills training programme to young Cambodian women from underprivileged backgrounds. Each year, the school receives more than 100 applications for about 25 places, obliging us to make a selection, which is based on very strict criteria concerning income, motivation and competence. Favouring one candidate over another is a complicated and difficult choice. Let’s take a closer look at these criteria and the admissions process.


Promotional campaigns for the School

Between February and March (once in February and then August this year, due to COVID-19), 2 or 3 trips are organised to promote the Bayon School or, as they say in Khmer, « the school where we learn to bake cakes ». We need to bear in mind the fact that, in the districts situated 3 or 4 hours’ drive from Siem Reap, the local population has very often never heard of bread baking, never mind pastry. Either through the local high schools or with the help of local associations, who deal with young people (Enfant du Mékong, CWCC), we go to talk about cakes, recipes, a little maths, hygiene and English, but, more importantly, the promise of getting a concrete profession, which is in high demand. Every year, we distribute around 1000 promotional leaflets and application files, inviting the young girls to submit an application.


Meeting the families

Once we have the applications – May/June usually (September this year) – the social teams set off to meet the families, in order to get a better understanding of their situation. How is the family made up, how many dependents are there, what is the level of income per family member, do they own land with the capacity to produce food (namely rice), do they own anything (motorbike, bicycle, concrete house or not), do they have outstanding debts? These criteria allow our teams to award a mark which will serve to assess the poverty level of each family.

118487006_656572231901676_3510783462968724361_n


The exam and motivation interview

Finally, during the same trip, the future students are invited to sit an exam, which will enable us to assess their academic level, as the training programme is only open to students having graduated Grade 7 (equivalent of 5ème in France). The young girls also have an interview where we test essentially their ability to present themselves and ask questions as well as their motivation to follow the programme. This interview is essential as we can assess their self-confidence and desire to learn; some of the young girls we see stopped school a number of years ago, and it is important to check that they will be able to start learning again.

118651241_306347493787373_2552644497179779530_n


How do we choose ?

On the basis of this analysis and the individual interviews, a committee, composed of social workers, teachers and members of the management team, assesses the pertinence of choosing one student over another. With the same level of poverty, how do we choose between two motivated young girls, who both stopped school after Grade 9 (Brevet, 3ème)? In this particular case, priority would be given to the older of the two, encouraging the younger girl to go back to school and to re-apply a year or two later if she stills wishes to. It is true that, at 20 or 21 years of age, the parents (and the young girls) will try to marry their daughter off in order to ensure her financial security. Later on, the young girl will find it very difficult to follow a training programme or take up other studies.

118419984_649029755739399_2063931671256482159_n

As far as I am concerned, priority needs to be given to a candidate’s motivation when we have to choose between two candidates. A young girl needs to show strong perseverance to be able to follow a training programme 8 hours a day with English lessons in the evening. A student, with little motivation or who has been pressurised to join by her parents, will struggle to keep up,” explains Sokhoeurn, Head of the Pastry School.

Even if the choice can be difficult, and the Bayon School cannot accept everybody, the association tries to advise the families, sometimes by re-directing them towards other associations, which offer training programmes, but mainly by encouraging the young girls to continue in their search to carry on with their studies.

 

, 29 September 2020

Recruter les étudiantes – La difficulté du choix

Etuidantes 1

Depuis 6 ans déjà, l’Ecole de pâtisserie et de boulangerie du Bayon offre une formation gratuite et qualifiante à des jeunes cambodgiennes issues de milieux défavorisés. Chaque année, l’école reçoit plus de 100 candidatures pour environ 25 places. Le recrutement oblige à faire des choix qui sont basés sur des critères bien précis de revenus, de motivation et de compétences. Favoriser une candidature plutôt qu’une autre est un choix compliqué et difficile. Revenons sur les critères et le processus de recrutement.


Les voyages de promotion de l’école

Entre février et mars (effectué en février puis en août cette année, à cause au Covid), entre 2 et 3 voyages sont organisés pour faire la promotion de l’Ecole du Bayon « L’école où on apprend à faire des gâteaux » en khmer. En effet, dans les provinces situées à 3 ou 4h de Siem Reap, bien souvent, les habitants n’ont jamais entendu parler de boulangerie et encore moins de pâtisserie. Au sein des lycées ou auprès des jeunes pris en charge par les associations locales (Enfants du Mékong, CWCC), nous venons parler de gâteaux, de recettes, un peu de mathématique, d’hygiène et d’anglais mais surtout de la promesse de décrocher un métier concret et très demandé. Environ 1000 flyers et dossiers de candidature sont distribués chaque année et les jeunes filles sont invitées à candidater si elles le souhaitent.


La rencontre avec les familles

Dans un second temps, en mai/juin (septembre cette année), les équipes sociales partent à la rencontre des familles afin de mieux comprendre leurs problématiques. Composition de la famille, personnes à charge, niveau de revenu par membre, possession d’un terrain avec une capacité à produire (riz notamment), possession de biens (motos, vélos, maison en dur ou pas), dettes… Ces critères permettent d’attribuer une note qui servira à évaluer le niveau de pauvreté de la famille.

118487006_656572231901676_3510783462968724361_n


L’examen et l’entretien de motivation.

Enfin, au cours du même voyage, les futures étudiantes sont convoquées pour passer un examen qui permet d’évaluer leur niveau scolaire, la formation étant ouverte à partir du grade 7 (équivalent 5ème en France). Elles sont aussi soumises à un entretien de motivation où seront testés principalement leur capacité à se présenter, à poser des questions et leur motivation pour suivre la formation. Cet entretien est crucial car il permet de tester la confiance en soi et l’envie d’apprendre. Certaines de ces jeunes filles ont arrêté l’école et sont parfois déscolarisées depuis quelques années et il faut évaluer leur capacité à apprendre de nouveau.

118651241_306347493787373_2552644497179779530_n


Comment choisir ?

Fort de cette analyse et de ces rencontres, un comité composé des travailleurs sociaux, des professeurs et de la direction évalue la possibilité de recruter une étudiante plutôt qu’une autre. A niveau de pauvreté égal, comment choisir entre deux jeunes filles motivées qui ont arrêté l’école en grade 9 (brevet) ? La priorité sera alors donnée à la plus âgée des deux, encourageant l’autre à reprendre le chemin de l’école et à repostuler dans un an ou deux si elle le souhaite toujours. En effet, vers 20 ou 21 ans, les parents (et les filles) cherchent bien souvent à marier leur fille pour lui assurer une sécurité financière. Par la suite, elle n’aura que très peu de chance de pouvoir suivre une formation ou des études.

118419984_649029755739399_2063931671256482159_n

 

Pour Sokhoeurn, directrice de l’école de pâtisserie : « La motivation est le critère que je retiens lorsqu’un choix doit être effectué entre deux candidates. En effet, il faut une forte persévérance pour suivre une formation 8h par jour avec des cours du soir en anglais. Une étudiante, peu motivée, ou forcée par ses parents, ne parviendra pas à suivre la formation. »

Même si le choix est parfois difficile et que l’Ecole du Bayon ne peut malheureusement pas accueillir tout le monde, l’association s’efforce de conseiller les familles, de réorienter vers d’autres structures de formation si besoin ; et surtout d’encourager les jeunes filles dans leur démarche de vouloir poursuivre leurs études.

 

, 29 septembre 2020