HOLIDAYS IN THE
ANGKOR TEMPLES…

The AuVert’gnats, a group from the Puy-de-Dôme area in France composed of four girls and four boys, proposed a rich and detailed candidature, which motivated our choice. Coming out of a two week experience in the Alpes where they helped a cow farmer with milking and other activities linked with alpine pasture, the team started uniting through strong values of solidarity and mutual aid; values they used during their month at Bayon School.
The August 2019 summer camp took another direction because this year, we associated the scouts and the bursary students of the association. Bayon School hopes to support some students after Grade 12 by offering them a study bursary.

WEB-67843393_376146466401765_8203761450917822464_n

To start with, the two groups met up to exchange over ideas, organize themselves and build a common calendar. One week was more reserved for Khmer games and the next to French games, the other nationality discovering the specificities of entertainment in each culture.
The scouts offered games that the Khmer children did not know. Their preferences turned towards group and sportive games such as “balle au prisonnier”, chicken-viper-fox (the vipers catch the foxes, who catch the chicken who eat the vipers!) or the planets game. They alternated between the sportive activities and the creative activities (collage, decoration, painting…) in order to make small groups. Between 50 and 80 children were present each morning and afternoon. The summer camp was open for Grade 2 and older.

WEB-67825096_343013743250901_8164017524367687680_n

The scouts really appreciated having the bursary students at their side. They considered this partnership franc-Khmer as essential as it enabled them to better understand the culture and to have access to information they wouldn’t have understood otherwise. Some of the scouts visited a family and discovered the house of our students. They will remember moments full of emotions such as the songs and the dances with the children. They loved playing outside and be surprised by the rain season and even then, continuing to play outside under the rain! Their favorite moment is a swim with some of the older students (11 to 14 years old) in one of the basins of ponds of the Angkor temples…

WEB-68756693_533255270548222_6658928428273631232_n

They sometimes found the days a bit long, because animating for such a long time can be exhausting. With time, they organized themselves better and learned to know the children, their names, their personalities and rich and sincere exchanges came from it. When we ask them what was their greatest difficulty, some answered: “hunger!”. The canteen of the school serves rice and soup of vegetables/meat every lunchtime. A bit repetitive for the French appetite.
The group of scouts was very professional and courageous (20km of biking every day to go to the school). They led their activities with enthusiasm and respect. We thank they vividly for their engagement with Bayon School!
, 24 September 2019

DES VACANCES DANS LES TEMPLES D’ANGKOR…

Les AuVERT’gnats, un groupe de compagnons du Puy-de-Dôme composé de quatre filles et quatre garçons, a proposé une candidature riche et détaillée qui a motivé notre choix. Forts d’une expérience de deux semaines dans les Alpes où ils ont aidé un éleveur de vache laitière pour la traite et les différentes tâches de l’alpage, l’équipe s’est soudée au travers de valeurs fortes de solidarité et d’entraide ; valeurs qu’ils ont su mettre en œuvre durant un mois à l’Ecole du Bayon.

WEB-67843393_376146466401765_8203761450917822464_n

Le camp d’été d’août 2019 a pris une autre tournure puisque nous avons souhaité cette année, que les scouts travaillent en collaboration avec les étudiants boursiers de l’association. En effet, l’Ecole du Bayon continue de soutenir certains étudiants après le grade 12 en leur offrant une bourse d’étude. Cinq d’entre eux se sont rendus disponibles pour donner de leur temps aux côtés des scouts et pour créer et organiser des activités ensemble.
Un premier temps de rencontre a permis aux deux groupes d’échanger afin de s’organiser et bâtir un calendrier commun. Une semaine était d’avantage réservée aux jeux khmers et la semaine suivante aux jeux français, l’autre nationalité découvrant ainsi les spécificités des divertissements de chaque culture.

WEB-67825096_343013743250901_8164017524367687680_n

Les scouts ont proposé des jeux que les enfants khmers ne connaissaient pas. Leur préférence s’est tournée vers les jeux collectifs et sportifs comme la balle au prisonnier, poule-vipère-renard (les vipères attrapent les renards qui eux attrapent les poules qui elles mangent les vipères !) ou encore le jeu des planètes. Ils ont alterné entre des activités sportives et des activités artistiques (collage, décoration, peinture…) pour permettre de faire des petits groupes. Entre 50 et 80 enfants étaient présents chaque matin et chaque après-midi. Le summer camp était ouvert à partir du grade 2.
Les scouts ont beaucoup apprécié agir aux côtés des étudiants boursiers. Ils considèrent ce partenariat franco-khmer comme essentiel car il leur a permis de mieux appréhender la culture et d’avoir accès à des informations qu’ils n’auraient pas compris autrement. Certains se sont rendus dans une famille et ont pu ainsi découvrir les maisons de nos élèves. Ils retiennent des moments forts en émotion lors de chants et de danses avec les enfants. Ils ont adoré jouer dehors et être surpris par la saison des pluies et malgré tout, continuer à jouer sous le déluge ! Leur moment préféré reste une baignade dans un des bassins des temples d’Angkor avec les plus grands (11 – 14 ans)…

WEB-68756693_533255270548222_6658928428273631232_n

Ils ont parfois trouvé les journées un peu longues, car animer autant peut être très fatigant. Avec le temps, ils se sont mieux organisés et ont appris à connaître les enfants, leur prénom et leur personnalité et des échanges riches et sincères en ont découlé. Quand on leur demande leur plus grande difficulté, certains ont répondu : « la faim ! ». En effet, à la cantine de l’école c’est riz et soupe de légumes/viande tous les midis. Cela peut être lassant pour les appétits français.
Le groupe de jeunes scouts aura été très professionnel et très courageux (20 kilomètres de vélo tous les jours pour le trajet jusqu’à l’école). Ils ont menés leurs activités avec entrain et respect. Nous les remercions vivement de leur engagement auprès de l’Ecole du Bayon !
, 24 septembre 2019