BAYON SCHOOL – DEALING WITH COVID-19

rice2

It has now been close to four months that COVID-19 has spread across the planet. Even if Cambodia has officially registered very few cases and no deaths, the country has not been spared and its population is suffering from the loss of jobs and the lack of tourist activity. Bayon School is doing their best to help the families during this unprecedented crisis.


 

Support the families – The first urgency

Since mid-March, no tourist has been allowed to enter the country and the large majority of the hotels, restaurants and spas have closed, leaving thousands of workers with no jobs and no compensation from the Cambodian government. Many of our families have been affected, losing their primary source of income which allowed them to meet the basic needs of 8-10 people. Furthermore, the children who used to go to school were being fed breakfast and lunch at the canteen, one thing less for the parents or grandparents to provide. Now they are at home and need feeding by their families, adding an additional charge.

Faced with this critical situation, Bayon School reacted quickly. From Week 1, all the vegetables grown by the famers invested in the Green Project were bought by the NGO and then distributed free of charge to the parents of our pupils. This guaranteed a salary for these women farmers and the insurance that the children would continue to eat healthy vegetables. In addition, our social teams studied the families very closely and we started distributing rice to those in desperate need from the second week after the school closure. Special thanks to our donors and the company AMRU Rice for their precious support, which allowed us to finance the rice and vegetables.

légumes 2

Closure of the Pastry School and Coffee Shop – What happens next?

At the Pastry School, we had to send our 26 students back to their families and, as a result and out of obligation, close the shop. The Coffee Shop of the Bayon Pastry School, opened more than 4 years ago, covers 50 % of the budget required for the pastry/baking training programme. Its closure means a significant loss of income for the NGO, which we have been able, in part, to compensate through the generosity of our donors. After two weeks of adjustment and holidays for the catering staff, we put in place several projects in preparation for the re-opening: inventory, storage, planting in the gardens, painting the walls, Spring cleaning, … In the end, the team was very busy. In addition, Sokhouern and Sokly developed a brand-new range of bread with no fewer than 10 new references for sale in our future bakery. They had the time to test new recipes to ensure a wide range of products that we will be able to offer the hotels and restaurants once they can re-open. Finally, since the end of April, the teachers have put in place online lessons for our students, who, each day, receive videos and telephone calls to keep them up to date and help them revise their lessons.

Pain

 

Social follow-up, survey and report

Our social teams have been very committed during this period. They worked firstly on identifying the families with the most difficulties in order to help them in the best way possible. This crisis has also given us the possibility to take a big step back and analyse the impact of our actions on the children and their education. A further study was led with the alumni of the Pastry School, with the aim of updating the details of our former students, analyzing their career paths and reviewing their situation one to five years after graduating.

Social Covid enquete 1

 

And our communication?

We have launched the huge undertaking of redoing the website for Bayon School. It will be revealed soon! And we are trying, as best we can, to stay in touch with all the friends of Bayon School, who, we know, stand by our side. An enormous thank you for your help which has allowed us to manage this crisis and help our families as much as possible. We hope to reopen the schools very soon and see again the happy, smiling faces of our pupils as they play outside.

 

, 2 July 2020

ECOLE DU BAYON – FAIRE FACE AU COVID

rice2

Cela fait presque quatre mois que le Covid-19 s’est répandu sur l’ensemble de la planète. Même si le Cambodge n’a répertorié officiellement que très peu de cas et aucun décès, le pays n’est pas épargné et les habitants souffrent de la perte de leur emploi et du manque d’activité touristique. L’Ecole du Bayon a essayé de réagir au mieux pour aider les familles dans cette crise inédite.


Soutenir les familles – La première urgence.

Depuis mi-mars, plus aucun touriste n’est entré dans le pays et une grande majorité d’hôtels, de restaurants et de spas ont fermé leurs portes, laissant des milliers de travailleurs sans emploi et sans aucune compensation de la part de l’état cambodgien. Beaucoup de nos familles sont victimes de cette crise et ont souvent perdu l’unique source de revenu qui permettait de subvenir aux besoins vitaux de 8 à 10 personnes. D’autre part, les enfants qui allaient à l’école étaient nourris matin et midi à la cantine, une charge en moins pour les parents ou les grands-parents. Ils sont dorénavant à la maison et doivent être nourris trois fois par jour.

Face à cette situation critique, l’Ecole a réagi vite. Dès la première semaine, tous les légumes produits par les farmers investis dans le projet des potagers, ont été rachetés par l’ONG pour ensuite être distribués gratuitement aux parents des élèves de l’école. Cela garantie un maintien de salaire pour ces femmes et l’assurance que les enfants continuent de manger des légumes sains. De plus, les équipes sociales ont effectué une étude précise des familles dont la situation était vraiment critique et des distributions de riz ont débuté dès la deuxième semaine de fermeture de l’école. Un soutien précieux de nos donateurs et de l’entreprise Cambodgienne AMRU RICE a permis d’aider au financement du riz et de légumes.

légumes 2

 

Fermeture de l’école de pâtisserie et du Coffee Shop – Et la suite ?

A l’Ecole de pâtisserie, nous avons dû renvoyer les 26 étudiantes dans leurs familles et par voie de conséquence et obligation, fermer le point de vente. Le Coffee Shop de la Bayon Pastry School, ouvert il y a maintenant plus de 4 ans, permet de financer 50% du budget lié à la formation en pâtisserie/boulangerie. Sa fermeture engendre une perte de revenus importante pour l’ONG que nous avons en partie compensée grâce à la générosité de nos donateurs. Après deux semaines d’ajustement et de vacances pour les équipes du service et de la cuisine, nous avons lancé plusieurs chantiers pour se préparer à la réouverture : inventaire, rangement, plantations dans le jardin, peinture des murs, grand nettoyage… Les membres de l’équipe ont en fin de compte été bien occupés et le Coffee Shop a finalement rouvert ses portes mi-juin. De plus, Sokhouern et Sokly ont élaboré une toute nouvelle gamme de pain avec une dizaine de références dans le but de les vendre dans notre future boulangerie. Elles ont eu le temps de tester de nouvelles recettes pour assurer une gamme variée que nous pourrons proposer aux hôtels et aux restaurants dès la réouverture de l’activité. Enfin, depuis fin avril, les professeurs de l’école ont lancé les cours en ligne pour nos étudiantes. Chaque jour, elles reçoivent des vidéos et des appels pour les maintenir au fait et leur faire réviser leurs leçons.

Pain

 

Suivi social, enquête et bilans.

Les équipes sociales sont très investies durant cette période. Elles ont tout d’abord travaillé dans l’urgence pour identifier les familles rencontrant des difficultés soudaines, pour pouvoir les aider au mieux. Mais ce temps de crise est aussi l’occasion de prendre du recul et d’analyser l’impact de nos actions sur les enfants et leur éducation. Une étude approfondie a été menée auprès des alumnis de l’école de pâtisserie. L’objectif : mettre à jour les données de nos anciennes étudiantes, analyser leur parcours et faire le point sur leur situation entre un à cinq ans après l’obtention de leur diplôme.

Social Covid enquete 1

 

Et la communication ?

Nous avons lancé un grand chantier pour la refonte du site Internet de l’Ecole du Bayon. Vous le découvrirez bientôt ! Et nous essayons de rester en contact au mieux avec tous les amis de l’Ecole du Bayon, que nous savons à nos côtés. Un grand merci à vous tous pour l’aide que vous nous avez apportée pour faire face à cette crise et aider au mieux nos familles. Nous espérons très vite pouvoir rouvrir les écoles et retrouver les visages souriants des enfants qui jouent dehors.