Funding :

A walk for a good cause!

A few weeks ago, the 3rd edition of the march of the association “Rêve d’Elo” was held to support our school canteen by providing one meal per day to the 250 students of our school.
 
This year, the 11-kilometer walk between Cabourg and Mondeville in Normandy brought together 365 participants. This walk was followed by a barbecue where more than 400 guests gathered to support the association and pay tribute to Elodie.
 
Thanks to the association Le Rêve d’Elo and all the participants for this beautiful day which allowed to collect 7000 € for the canteen.
 
See you on the 22nd of April 2018 for the 4th edition of this march and on the 21st of October 2017 for a dancing meal!
 
P1160403

DSC04598

DSC04500

, 19 June 2017

A drawing for a greeting card!

This year, DBX Conseil, a real estate specialist company asked us to organize a drawing contest with our students from primary school in order to use it for their 2017 greeting card!
2 classes from Grade 3 and 4 decided to take up the challenge and drew the school of their dream!
 
IMG_9530web25
Grade 4
 
25
Grade 5
 
We collected 67 drawings and sent them to DBX Conseil. They organized a meeting to choose the best drawing.
 
And the winner is Nuoc Socheat in grade 3! Congratulations!
Nuok-Socheat
Carte
 
A big thank to DBX Conseil for this amazing project which raised 5000€ for the NGO! We wish to thank particulary Hervé Gauthier and Jean Christophe Defelice for their investment.
dbxbis

, 20 December 2016

The kindergarten has settled at the primary school

This is the big change for 2016-2017 at Bayon School: a brand new classroom for Mrs Pok’s kindergarten pupils.
 
We have been supporting that class for a few years. Until now it was located in a small village a few kilometers away from our primary school. In a bad condition, this building did not longer offer the right environment for the children. Thanks to the support of Rue des Iris and Charruau foundations, we have built a new classroom on the land of the primary school.
 
Monday 10th October was the beginning of the new school year for the little ones. Mrs Pok welcomed her 22 new pupils, who are aged between 4 and 5 years old, for a new year filled with playful activities. From now on, the kindergarten pupils will benefit from the same infrastructures as the other children, particularly Elodie’s canteen and the washbasins. Mrs Pok is very happy to teach in this new environment!
 
Big thanks to both foundations which made this project possible.
 
IMG_9590

IMG_9644web
IMG_9642web

, 11 October 2016

A great charity night for the primary school!

In order to support the increase of the primary school students number on the next school year, a charity night was organized in Siem Reap.
 
At the beginning of October, a new school year will begin at Bayon primary school! We will welcome then 250 students! This includes the 19 students of the kindergarten class who will benefit from a new building within the school site, thanks to the support of the foundations Alain Charruau and Rue des Iris. Eight young monks of the Preah Saar pagoda, where our school is implemented, will also attend the lessons.
 
To finance the new students’ scholarship, our NGO was given the opportunity to organize a charity night at Heritage Suites Hotel in Siem Reap on Friday 19th August. This luxurious hotel, which already supported our projects by buying breads, croissants and pastries from Bayon Pastry School and by welcoming our pastry students for their internship, showed again its involvement by our sides with this beautiful evening that we organized together.
 
The fundraising was based on:
– The sales of entrance tickets ($15 presale and $20 on the spot) including free flow soft drinks, wine and beer, tapas pass around prepared by chef Vibol Boun’s team, pastries made by Bayon Pastry School and one raffle ticket;
– The sales of extra raffle tickets;
– An auction sale.
For the occasion, many amazing prizes were given by our sponsors: travel agencies, hotels, restaurants, shops…
 
14045868_1193001544097400_7507277576864330583_n
14054159_1193008674096687_5417962485864513848_n
 
After our programme director Claire Buisson’s speech, Xavier Denonville, owner of the Belgian restaurant Le Bel Air, took the floor to successfully lead the auction. The eight prizes (seven stays in hotels and one sunset cruise) were sold, with a total amount of $ 1 730! Then, the lucky draw took place and the nineteen prizes were won by lucky peope!
 
13962684_1193005634096991_3025943889286954549_n
DSC_0152
 
This great evening gathered about 150 people and enabled to raise $3 608.61, which will finance 12 students’ scholarship for one year!
 
Montant récolté

 
Our warmest thanks to:
Heritage Suites Hotel
The Aviary Hotel
Belmond la Résidence d’Angkor
Maison Polanka
Heritage Adventures
Phum Baitang
Rosewood Phnom Penh
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Gold & Spa Resort
Asia My Way
Boncafé
Café Indochine
Cambodian Travel Partner
Christine’s
Flight of the Gibbon
Senteurs d’Angkor & Kaya Spa
L’Atelier Coiffure
L’Atelier Sushi
La Couleur du Thé
Le Bel Air
Nest Angkor
Rico Pizza
The Sugar Palm
Celliers d’Asie
The Warehouse
 
And to Bugs Café and German Sausage Company which distributed our presale tickets.

Thanks to Xavier Denonville who led the auction sales and the lucky draw.

Congratulations to Heritage Suites Hotel staff who did a great job to make this evening a success and thanks to Antoine Lhomme, who took the initiative of the event and who helped a lot on organizing it.

Finally, big thanks to all the people who attended the event!
 
14067655_1193000320764189_4915249292928617816_n
13934662_1193000760764145_7508784687200287811_n
14102717_1193001580764063_6427364733892687042_n
14021744_1193009570763264_701934138586921813_n
14055017_1193009637429924_7050256466758858011_n

, 24 August 2016

Focus on a partner: Buffalo Tours

Bayon Pastry School is happy to work with the travel agency Buffalo Tours since January 2016. We have interviewed Panya Thin, Regional Manager of Buffalo Tours Cambodia, Laos and Myanmar and Suy Vet, ETA project team leader in Cambodia.
 
Buffalo Tours
 
How did you get to work with Bayon Pastry School?
Buffalo Tours includes the ETA department: Educational Travel in Asia. It is about everything related to local community work. It helps us offer sustainable tourism. Before your school was officially open, two ladies came across our office to introduce the project. We were really interested because we are willing to support businesses which change people’s life. A few weeks later, I came over. Nothing was finished yet but I still found it was beautiful. The way you support those vulnerable women is such a meaningful way to do something. So, we convinced our agent to let us arrange this. And now, we serve your products to our customers!
 
In which context do you serve our products to our customers?
We get your products (croissants, financiers, cookies, ginger &cinnamon cakes) on the evening and serve them on the next morning in the temples, after our customers watched the sunrise on Angkor Wat. We drive them to another temple 10 minutes away and they can enjoy a whole breakfast buffet with your products and some coffee, tea and fresh fruits. We display the food on a long table and the people help themselves with a palm box. We don’t want to give them a plate. We thought of the palm box which makes more sense because we can recycle it and it is made in a village where one of my staff is from. It is more responsible.
 
received_968254436594946
 
Do you promote the fact that you work with our pastry school?
Actually, that breakfast is a small part of a whole tour that we provide. We clearly communicated with our agents and that’s why it has been great so far, but our customers do not know much about your products. We have your sign on the buffet (mentioning “Bayon Pastry School made these products”) but from what we see, the customers just want to enjoy the moment. The time and space are so limited, the tourists don’t really know what happens behind the scenes. They just enjoy the service and the good time. But at least, it’s a good thing for them to know that their money doesn’t go to all the big key players or suppliers (hotels, restaurants, flight tickets, cruises…). They can make sure that a part of their expenses actually benefits local people. As much as we think responsible travel is a good way of travelling, it is still not a mass market, in a common sense that people are looking for their comfort zone. Because of the time limit, they don’t really have time to do much of adventure activities or help social projects. So, Buffalo Tours tries to be a link which is sewing tourists and locals in some way.
 
Is Buffalo Tours particularly committed to work with NGO’s and social businesses?
In our tours, we believe that small things can mean big to us, to our customers and to our agent. Everything we do must add a meaning to our tours and hopefully the customers can see that. We work on a competitive market. We have a permanent person in charge of the ETA department in every country where we are established and they are trained every year. We are convinced that sustainable tourism is a competitive advantage. Being able to support communities, even in a small way, is a privilege. We know it’s going to go for a long way. Working with Bayon Pastry School is an opportunity for us to do something different. We think of the future of our company but also of the long future of your NGO. It’s about social enterprise, it’s a great thing because we don’t believe in funding some people the whole time. You know, a lot of NGOs fail in Cambodia because they only have a two year fund, so after two years their project ends. That is why we really encourage people who have these social enterprise ideas, looking for ways to be more sustainable.
 
Would you like to say something about the pastry class and coffee breaks we provided you with a few times?
The group who attended the pastry class gave us an amazing feedback about it, they really appreciated it! Concerning the coffee break, we brought a couple of groups to your place, the story behind the coffee shop meant a lot to them. They also found the quality of the pastries amazing. However, although it is a very nice activity, I think coffee breaks aren’t really suitable for our organization because we have a very limited amount of time. It works only with our ETA department which is a small part of our business.
 
Anything you would like to add to conclude the interview?
Yes, if I may make a couple of suggestions. I hope to see you succeed in a bigger way. For that, you really have to find the right companies to start with. Don’t waste your time with companies who will just “blablabla” but are not really willing to help you. The companies at our level, which we call “global”, especially some of our competitors, are the right companies to go to. It could bring you to a longer way. Also, you have to work with hotels. I know that the big ones already have pastry chefs but maybe target at boutique hotels.
 
A big thank you to Panya and Vet who granted some of their precious time for that interview!

, 29 June 2016

Financement :

Marcher pour la bonne cause !

Il y a quelques semaines, s’est déroulée la 3ème édition de la marche de l’association le Rêve d’Elo, qui permet de financer la cantine de notre école en fournissant un repas équilibré par jour aux 250 élèves de notre école.
 
Cette année la marche de 11 kms entre Cabourg et Mondeville en Normandie a réuni 365 participants. Cette marche était suivie d’un barbecue où plus de 400 convives se sont retrouvés pour soutenir l’association et rendre un hommage à Elodie.
 
Merci à l’association Le Rêve d’Elo et à tous les participants pour cette belle journée qui a permis de récolter 7000€ pour la cantine.
 
RDV le 22 Avril 2018 pour la 4ème édition de cette marche et le 21 Octobre 2017 pour un repas dansant !
 
P1160403

DSC04598

DSC04500
 

, 19 juin 2017

Un dessin pour une carte de voeux

Cette année DBX Conseil, entreprise spécialiste de l’immobilier d’entreprise nous a demandé d’organiser un concours dessin auprès de nos enfants afin de créer leur carte de vœux pour l’année 2017.
 
Deux classes de CE2 (Grade 3) et CM1 (Grade 4) ont décidé de relever le défi et de dessiner l’école de leur rêve !
 
IMG_9530web25
Les enfants du CE2
 
25
Les enfants du CM1
 
Nous avons collecté 67 dessins que nous avons remis à l’entreprise DBX Conseil.Le conseil s’est ensuite réuni pour choisir le meilleur dessin.
 
Et la grande gagnante est Nuoc Socheat en CE2
Félicitations à elle !
Nuok-Socheat
Carte
 
Merci à DBX Conseil pour ce super projet qui permet à l’ONG de récolter 5000€ de dons ! Nous souhaitons particulièrement remercier Hervé Gauthier et Jean Christophe Defelice pour leur investissement.
dbxbis

, 20 décembre 2016

La maternelle rejoint l’école primaire

C’est la grande nouveauté de l’année 2016-2017 à l’école du Bayon : une toute nouvelle salle pour la classe de maternelle de Mme Pok.
 
Nous soutenons depuis quelques années cette classe jusqu’alors située dans un tout petit village à quelques kilomètres de notre école primaire. En mauvais état, le bâtiment ne permettait plus d’offrir aux enfants des conditions optimales pour apprendre. Grâce au soutien financier des fondations Charruau et Rue des Iris, nous avons fait construire un nouveau bâtiment sur le terrain de notre école primaire.
 
Lundi 10 octobre 2016 a eu lieu la première rentrée scolaire des tout-petits à l’école du Bayon ! Mme Pok a accueilli ses 22 nouveaux élèves, âgés de 4 à 5 ans, pour une nouvelle année d’éveil et d’activités ludiques. Les élèves de maternelles bénéficieront désormais des mêmes infrastructures que les autres enfants, en particulier la cantine d’Elodie et les lavabos. Mme Pok est très contente d’enseigner dans ce nouvel environnement !
 
Un grand merci aux deux fondations qui ont permis la réalisation de ce beau projet.
 
IMG_9590

IMG_9644web
IMG_9642web

, 11 octobre 2016

Une belle soirée de charité pour l’école primaire !

Afin de soutenir l’augmentation des effectifs de l’école primaire pour la prochaine rentrée scolaire, une soirée de collecte de fonds a été organisée à Siem Reap.
 
Début octobre prochain marquera le début d’une nouvelle année scolaire à l’école primaire du Bayon ! Nous accueillerons alors 250 étudiants ! Cela inclut les 19 élèves de la classe de maternelle qui bénéficieront désormais d’un nouveau bâtiment construit au sein de l’école primaire, grâce au soutien financier des fondations Alain Charruau et Rue des Iris. Huit jeunes moines de la pagode Preah Saar, où l’école est implantée, viendront aussi en classe.
 
Pour financer la scolarisation des nouveaux élèves, notre ONG a eu la belle opportunité d’organiser une soirée de charité à Heritage Suites Hotel à Siem Reap ce vendredi 19 août. Cet hôtel de luxe, qui soutenait déjà nos projets en se fournissant en pain, croissants et desserts auprès de Bayon Pastry School et en accueillant en stage nos étudiantes en pâtisserie, a encore une fois témoigné son engagement à nos côtés avec cette belle soirée organisée conjointement.
 
Le fundraising était basé sur :
– la vente de tickets d’entrée ($15 en prévente et $20 sur place) incluant boissons soft, bière et vin à volonté, des tapas préparés par l’équipe du chef cuisinier Vibol Boun, des mini-pâtisseries de Bayon Pastry School et un billet de tombola ;
– la vente de billets de tombolas supplémentaires ;
– une vente aux enchères.
Pour l’occasion, de très beaux lots avaient été offerts par de nombreux sponsors : agences de voyages, hôtels, restaurants, magasins…
 
14045868_1193001544097400_7507277576864330583_n
14054159_1193008674096687_5417962485864513848_n
 
Après le discours de Claire Buisson, notre directrice de programme, c’est Xavier Denonville, propriétaire du restaurant belge Le Bel Air, qui a pris la parole pour animer avec brio la vente aux enchères. Les huit lots (sept séjours en hôtels et une croisière au coucher du soleil) ont été remportés pour un montant total de $ 1 730 ! A suivi la tombola, dont les dix-neuf lots ont fait des heureux !
 
13962684_1193005634096991_3025943889286954549_n
DSC_0152
 
Cette belle soirée a rassemblé près de 150 personnes et a permis de récolter la somme de $3 608.61, soit la scolarité de 12 élèves à l’école primaire !
 

Montant récolté

 
Nous adressons nos plus chaleureux remerciements à :
Heritage Suites Hotel
The Aviary Hotel
Belmond la Résidence d’Angkor
Maison Polanka
Heritage Adventures
Phum Baitang
Rosewood Phnom Penh
Sofitel Angkor Phokeethra Gold & Spa Resort
Asia My Way
Boncafé
Café Indochine
Cambodian Travel Partner
Christine’s
Flight of the Gibbon
Senteurs d’Angkor & Kaya Spa
L’Atelier Coiffure
L’Atelier Sushi
La Couleur du Thé
Le Bel Air
Nest Angkor
Rico Pizza
The Sugar Palm
Celliers d’Asie
The Warehouse
 
Ainsi qu’à Bugs Café et German Sausage Company qui ont distribué nos tickets de prévente.
Merci à Xavier Denonville qui a animé la vente aux enchères et la tombola.
Félicitations au staff d’Heritage Suites Hotel qui a fait un très beau travail pour faire de cette soirée une réussite et merci à Antoine Lhomme, à l’initiative de cette soirée et qui nous a énormément aidés sur l’organisation !
Enfin, un grand merci à tous ceux qui ont participé à ce bel événement !
 
14067655_1193000320764189_4915249292928617816_n
13934662_1193000760764145_7508784687200287811_n
14102717_1193001580764063_6427364733892687042_n
14021744_1193009570763264_701934138586921813_n
14055017_1193009637429924_7050256466758858011_n

, 24 août 2016

Lumière sur un partenaire : Buffalo Tours

Bayon Pastry School est ravie de travailler avec l’agence de voyages Buffalo Tours depuis Janvier 2016. Nous avons interviewé Panya Thin, Responsable régional du Cambodge, Laos et Birmanie et Suy Vet, Resposable du projet ETA au Cambodge.
 
Buffalo Tours  
 
Comment avez-vous été amenés à travailler avec Bayon Pastry School ?
Buffalo Tours comporte le département ETA : Educational Travel in Asia. Cela concerne tout ce qui est lié aux communautés locales. A travers ce département, nous proposons un tourisme responsable. Avant que votre école ne soit officiellement ouverte, deux jeunes femmes sont venues à notre agence pour nous présenter le projet. Nous étions vraiment intéressés parce que nous avons une réelle volonté de soutenir des entreprises qui changent des vies. Quelques semaines plus tard, je suis venu à votre école. Bien que ce n’était pas encore terminé, j’ai trouvé que c’était un beau projet. La manière dont vous aidez ces femmes vulnérables est une façon vraiment significative d’agir. Alors, nous avons convaincu notre hiérarchie de nous laisser organiser quelque chose avec vous. Et aujourd’hui, nous servons vos produits à nos clients !
 
Dans quel contexte servez-vous nos produits ?
Vos produits (croissants, financiers, cookies, cake au gingembre et à la cannelle) sont livrés le soir et servis le lendemain matin dans les temples, après que nos clients aient admiré le lever du soleil sur Angkor Wat. Nous les conduisons alors à un autre temple à seulement dix minutes de route et ils profitent d’un buffet petit déjeuner avec vos produits et du café, du thé et des fruits frais. Nous disposons le tout sur une longue table et les gens se servent dans une boîte en feuilles de palme. Voulant proposer une alternative aux assiettes, nous avons pensé que ces boîtes auraient plus de sens car elles sont recyclables et fabriquées dans le village d’origine d’une de nos collaboratrices. C’est plus responsable.
 
received_968254436594946
 
Communiquez-vous sur le fait que vous travaillez avec notre école de pâtisserie ?
En fait, ce petit déjeuner n’est qu’une petite partie du tour que nous organisons. Nous avons clairement communiqué auprès de nos agents, c’est pourquoi cela se passe toujours aussi bien, mais nos clients ne sont pas forcément au courant. Nous disposons votre petit panneau sur le buffet (qui mentionne « Bayon Pastry School a réalisé ces produits ») mais les clients savourent l’instant présent. Nous avons peu de temps et d’espace, les touristes ne savent pas ce qui se passe en coulisses. Ils profitent du service et de l’expérience. Mais au moins, il est bon à savoir pour eux que leur argent ne va pas seulement chez les plus gros fournisseurs de services (hôtels, restaurants, billets d’avions, croisières…). Ils peuvent s’assurer qu’une partie de leurs dépenses revient aux locaux. Même si nous sommes convaincus que le tourisme responsable est la bonne manière de voyager, ce n’est pas encore un marché de masse, dans le sens où le public cherche encore à rester dans sa zone de confort. Ils n’ont pas vraiment le temps de participer à des activités plus « aventurières » et à des projets sociaux. D’une certaine manière, Buffalo Tours essaie alors se positionner comme un lien entre les touristes et les locaux.
 
L’agence Buffalo Tours a-t-elle un engagement particulier à travailler avec des ONG et des entreprises sociales ?
Dans notre travail, nous pensons que des petites choses peuvent signifier beaucoup pour nous, pour nos clients et pour nos agents. Tout ce que nous faisons doit ajouter une plus-value et une symbolique à nos tours et nous espérons que les clients le ressentent. Nous sommes sur un marché compétitif. Nous avons une personne en charge du département ETA dans chaque pays où nous sommes implantés et ces personnes sont formées chaque année. Nous sommes convaincus que le tourisme responsable est un avantage compétitif. Être capable d’aider les communautés locales est un privilège. Et nous savons que c’est pour du long terme. Travailler avec Bayon Pastry School est pour nous une opportunité de faire quelque chose de différent. Nous pensons au futur de notre entreprise, mais aussi à l’avenir de votre ONG. C’est une entreprise sociale, ce qui est une bonne chose parce que nous ne croyons pas en le fait de financer des associations en permanence. Vous savez, beaucoup d’ONG échouent au Cambodge car elles n’ont qu’un financement sur deux ans et après cette période, leur projet prend fin. C’est pourquoi nous encourageons vivement les gens qui ont des idées d’entreprises sociales et qui cherchent à réaliser des projets durables.
 
Souhaitez-vous dire quelques mots sur le cours de pâtisserie et les pauses café que nous avons mis en place pour vos clients ?
Le groupe qui a participé au cours de pâtisserie nous a fait un retour fantastique, ils ont vraiment apprécié ! En ce qui concerne les pauses café, nous avons amené quelques groupes à votre coffee shop et l’histoire derrière leur a vraiment plu. Ils ont aussi trouvé vos pâtisseries d’une grande qualité. Cependant, bien que ce soit une belle activité, je pense que les pauses café ne sont pas vraiment adaptées à notre organisation car nous sommes très contraints par le temps. Cela ne fonctionne qu’avec notre département ETA, qui représente une petite partie de notre activité.
 
Voulez-vous ajouter quelque chose pour conclure cette interview ?
Oui, si je peux faire quelques suggestions. J’espère vraiment vous voir réussir à une plus grande échelle. Pour cela, vous devez vraiment trouver les bonnes entreprises avec qui commencer. Ne perdez pas votre temps avec des entreprises qui ne vous ferons que du « blabla » et qui n’auront pas réellement envie de vous soutenir. Les entreprises à notre niveau, que nous appelons « globales », notamment certains de nos concurrents, sont les bonnes compagnies à approcher. Elles pourraient vous emmener loin. Egalement, vous devez travailler avec des hôtels. Je sais que les grands hôtels ont déjà des chefs pâtissiers mais vous pouvez cibler les hôtels-boutiques.
 
Un grand merci à Panya et Vet pour nous avoir accordé leur temps précieux !

, 29 juin 2016