Projects :

New school year, new pastry intake!

This year, 17 young girls joined our Bayon Pastry School program.
 
The classes started on September 4th but some of the girls arrived earlier to follow the refresher classes.
 
Our 16 students began got acquainted with the school and started their first English and math lessons with Marie their teacher, assisted by Vottey. But what the students enjoyed the most was their 1st pastry class where they realized financiers! After 3 hours spent in the pastry lab, the suspicious students could finally taste this cakes with unknown flavors. The results were unanimous: it is delicious!
 
Mid-October a 1st group will already be on a training course in a hotel. This gives them the time to work in order to be ready to enter professional life!
 
We wish them a successful year!
4th pastry intake

, 14 September 2017

New menu at the coffee shop!

Food lovers, take note! After two years of opening, we have changed the menu of the coffee shop to offer you more delicious cakes, pastries and other sweetness!
 
For 2 months, our shock teams have been working to create new recipes: now you can order our muesli with fresh fruits and homemade yoghurt, smoothie bowls as well as a new delicious fruit tarts not to mention croissants, chocolatines and brioches. There is something for all tastes and appetites with very greedy options and other healthier but equally appetizing…
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
The major innovation is the diversification of the menu with the addition of gluten-free and vegetable-free offers. There are now 3 free gluten cakes at the coffee shop, our best seller being the “Mandise” (cake with a chocolate spread)!18922745_1914296088827508_6736871933376136677_o
 
We have also begun selling our homemade products, such as jam jars (mango / passion, banana / ginger, watermelon / anise), peanut butter, and chocolate spread to take home or to offer! On this occasion we thank Nomad Tastes: Babeth and Rochelle, coming from Singapore to teach our pastry chef Sokhoeurn the secrets of an exquisite jams. Thank you!DSC09548
 
Do not hesitate to follow the Instagram account and the Facebook page of the coffee shop, where you will discover photos and videos of our new pastries and offers for breakfast! In addition to being delicious it is also beautiful …. This is the SEE FOOD DIET!
 
See you soon !

, 26 June 2017

An intensive year!


The school year is coming to an end for our young pastry students. Friday, Group 2 will have its last class while Group 1 will finish training. The month of July will be devoted to revisions, interviews practice and job search.

 
This year will have been rich in discovery for our young girls: discovery of Siem Reap, school, pastry, english class, accounting, hotel training … At the same time, the teaching team wanted to develop the open-mindedness of the students as well as their culture through many playful activities.
 
Special emphasis was placed this year on the serious environmental problems in Cambodia. Through presentations and activities, we wanted to sensitize young girls to the importance of sorting and recycling:
– Participation in the Clean & Green up Temple Town 2016 initiative: a large collection of waste in the city of Siem Reap.
– Achievement of a workshop at our partner Nagaearth to learn how to recycle paper, plastic bottles and plastic bags.
– Visit of the NGO Rehash Trash, which recycles plastic to make objects: baskets, placemats, pencil jars etc. The girls were able to try the plastic hook and leave with a recycled object!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_0725

 
In addition, we wanted to allow girls to deepen their knowledge of Khmer culture.
That is why we took them the 8th of March (women’s day) to visit the cultural village of Siem Reap. They attended performances about every provinces of Cambodia.
The girls also had the chance to see a show of the famous circus Phare. This Cambodian NGO trains arts to young people. They do several well-known circus shows in Cambodia including one, Sokha, which stages the period of the Khmer Rouge.
Then, last week, the girls visited Artisans d’Angkor workshops, a social enterprise that aims to highlight Khmer culture through local crafts.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
Finally, to complete the personal fulfillment of the young girls, we introduced them to Yoga. A widespread activity in Cambodia, yoga is both a physical sport but also a state of mind in which the healthy mind and the healthy body go hand in hand.Yoga class
 
Now time for reviewings, good luck to them!

Re-opening of the coffee shop

Bayon Pastry School Coffee shop opened in 2014 to help funding the pastry training.

Two years have passed and the coffee shop grew to become a nice and famous place in Siem Reap. But the coffee shop is small and can only welcome 12 people while there are more and more groups who come to taste our pastries! Moreover, with the hot and humid climate, it is time to refresh the painting the coffee shop.

We have to do something! During the water festival holidays, we close the coffee shop to do some restoration work: paintings, extension of the roof and tile laying to protect the walls. Then, Chloé and Tiphaine turns into decorator: change the furniture, build a terrace and buy some crockery… Mirasol, a Filipina artist, starts to paint on the wall a fresco about our primary school and our pastry school: the result is amazing! Thanks and congratulations Mirasol!
15644634_10153899022307303_528996729_n

In the same time, Chloé bond a new partnership with a franco-belgium couple who will come every Sunday to set their tuktuk bagel in the coffee shop garden in order to offer new brunch and lunch menus: it is the return of our Chill Out Sunday – offer a nice Sunday time with games, music and good food in a peaceful place!

In the evening of Saturday 10th of December, all the staff is busy setting up everything so that the coffee shop be ready for the big reopening event on the Sunday « Open Brunch »

The event is a real success: the weather is bright and more than 100 people come to discover the transformed coffee shop, the delicious bagels and amazing cakes!

Thanks to all the staff who worked hard to make this happened and to the Foundation Amber who supports us for this project!
IMG_1258

IMG_1255

IMG_1244

IMG_1235

IMG_1199

IMG_1198

IMG_1191

IMG_1182

IMG_1179

IMG_1169

IMG_1168

IMG_1161

, 20 December 2016

Bayon Pastry School 3rd intake !

At the beginning of September, we welcomed 12 underprivileged young women for a new year at Bayon Pastry School.
 
The recruitment
Last March, we started the recruitment process. After spreading leaflets in villages and NGOs, we received over 50 applications. The applicants had to fill a form on their family situation, their living conditions and their education. We made a shortlist and called in about 30 young women to our pastry school for written tests (Khmer general knowledge, English, calculation) and a motivation interview. Then, our team has visited the families in order to check their social conditions and make sure the parents support their daughter to follow the training. Indeed, most of our students leave their family for the first time and it can be hard to accept from the parents.
 
13296287_10209175824090287_1782654323_n
Exams
IMG_1903
IMG_1858
Family visits
 
The start of the school year
In order to curb the gap between the students before they start the training, we organized a remedial week. Five students attended special lessons with Margaux, our education coordinator and complementary classes teacher. Following that week, our new students joined Sreynich, who narrowly graduated in last July.
 
The first period of the training took place from September to late October and the students attended their very first lessons in pastry theory and practice, English and mathematics. The pastry apprentices discover a whole new environment and their teachers must start with the basics: equipment and ingredients vocabulary in pastry class, English class…
Margaux, our teacher, relates us :
 

First period went so fast and the students have already made a lot of progress! It is not always easy to communicate because of their pretty low English level and my quasi inexistant Khmer one – but my young khmer assistant Moeung is here to assist me during classes. I try to give lessons with fun and dynamism – some of the students left school several years ago and it is not easy to get back on the tracks. But step by step we create a nice and productive working atmosphere. It is very rewarding to see them progressing. They are very studious and eager to learn. They also are very curious and always ready to laugh. It is a real pleasure to spend time with them.

 
Two months after the beginning of the training, we have already noticed huge progress! Our team was glad to be the judge of the first pastry exam and we can say the students delighted us!
 
IMG_9927
IMG_9932
 
The first internship
On the 24th October, 6 students have started their first internship within big hotels of Siem Reap: Le Meridien, Sokha Hotel, Somadeyi, Victoria Hotel, Tara Hotel and Sofitel. This first immersion, which lasts 6 weeks, aims to set the students in a professional environment, teach them about hygiene rules, teamwork!
 
Do you want to support our vocational training?
Make a donation or sponsor a pastry student!

Projets :

Nouvelle année scolaire, nouvelle promotion d’apprenties pâtissières

Cette année, 17 jeunes filles ont rejoint notre formation Bayon Pastry School pour l’année 2017-2018.
 
Arrivées pour certaines mi-août afin de suivre la semaine de remise à niveau, la rentrée officielle s’est déroulée le 4 Septembre.
 
Nos 16 étudiantes ont donc commencé à prendre leurs marques et à suivre leurs premiers cours d’anglais et de math avec Marie leur professeur, assistée de Vottey. Mais ce que les étudiantes ont préféré était leur 1er cours de pâtisserie où elles ont réalisé des financiers ! Après 3 heures de cours pour réaliser une vingtaine de financiers, les étudiantes méfiantes ont gouté ce gâteau aux saveurs inconnues. Le bilan est unanime : c’est délicieux !
 
Mi-octobre un 1er groupe partira déjà en stage en hôtel. Cela leur laisse donc le temps de bien travailler pour être prête à entrer dans la vie professionnelle !
 
Nous leur souhaitons une belle année pleine de succès !
4ème promo pâtisserie

, 14 septembre 2017

De nouvelles gourmandises !

Avis aux gourmands, après 2 ans d’ouverture, nous avons changé le menu du coffee shop pour vous proposer encore plus de délicieux gâteaux, pâtisseries et autres douceurs !
 
Pendant 2 mois, nos équipes de choc ont travaillé pour concocter de nouvelles recettes, ainsi, vous pourrez maintenant goûter notre muesli avec des fruits frais et yaourt maison ou notre fameux «smoothie bowl». De nouvelles pâtisseries comme des tartes aux fruits et un cheese cake passion sont venues s’ajouter à la liste des gâteaux sans oublier les immanquables : croissants, chocolatines et tarte au citron meringuée. Il y en a pour tous les goûts et appétits avec des options très gourmandes et d’autres plus saines mais toute aussi appétissantes…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
La grande nouveauté repose sur la diversification de la carte avec l’ajout d’offres sans gluten et vegan. Il y a désormais 3 gâteau gluten free au coffee shop, notre meilleure vente étant la « Mandise » (gâteau avec un coeur de pâte à tartiner vegan au chocolat) !18922745_1914296088827508_6736871933376136677_o
 
Nous avons également commencé la commercialisation de produits faits maison par nos pâtissières : pots de confitures (mangue/passion, banane/gingembre, pastèque/anis), beurre de cacahuète ainsi que de la pâte à tartiner au chocolat noir à emporter chez soi ou à offrir ! A cette occasion nous remercions Goûts Nomades : Babeth et Rochelle, venues de Singapour pour enseigner à notre chef pâtissière Sokhoeurn les secrets d’une confiture exquise. Merci !DSC09548
 
N’hésitez pas à suivre le compte Instagram et la page Facebook du coffee shop, vous y découvrirez des photos et vidéos de nos nouvelles pâtisseries et nos offres pour le petit déjeuner ! En plus d’être délicieux cela est aussi beau…. c’est le SEE FOOD DIET !
 
A bientôt !
 

, 26 juin 2017

Une année riche en découvertes !

L’année scolaire touche à sa fin pour nos jeunes étudiantes en pâtisserie. Vendredi, le groupe 2 suivra son dernier cours alors que le groupe 1 terminera sa dernière journée de stage. Le mois de Juillet sera consacré aux révisions, préparation aux entretiens et recherche d’emploi.
 
Cette année aura été riche en découvertes pour nos jeunes étudiantes : découverte de Siem Reap, de l’école, de la pâtisserie, cours d’anglais, de comptabilité, stages en hôtels… Parallèlement, l’équipe pédagogique a voulu développer au maximum l’ouverture d’esprit des étudiantes ainsi que leur culture à travers de nombreuses activités.
 
L’accent a particulièrement été mis cette année sur les problèmes environnementaux très préoccupants au Cambodge. Au travers de présentations et activités, nous avons voulu sensibiliser les élèves à l’importance du tri et recyclage :
– Participation à l’initiative Clean & Green up Temple Town 2016 : un grand ramassage des déchets dans la ville de Siem Reap.
– Réalisation d’un atelier chez notre partenaire Naga Earth pour apprendre à recycler le papier, les bouteilles et les sacs en plastique.
– Visite de l’ONG Rehash Trash qui permet de recycler le plastique pour en faire des objets : paniers, sets de table, pots à crayons etc. Les filles ont ainsi pu essayer le crochet du plastique et repartir avec un objet recyclé !
IMG_0725
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
Par ailleurs, nous avons souhaité permettre aux filles d’approfondir leurs connaissances de la culture khmère.
C’est pourquoi nous les avons emmené, le 8 Mars (journée de la femme), visiter le « cultural village » de Siem Reap. Elles ont ainsi assisté à des spectacles sur chaque région du Cambodge.
Les étudiantes ont aussi eu la chance d’aller voir un spectacle du fameux cirque Phare. Cette ONG cambodgienne formant les jeune aux métiers de l’art a monté plusieurs spectacles de cirque très reconnus au Cambodge dont, Sokha, spectacle qui met en scène la période des khmers rouges.
Puis, la semaine dernière, les étudiantes ont visité les ateliers d’Artisans d’Angkor, une entreprise sociale qui a pour but de mettre en valeur la culture khmère à travers l’artisanat local.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
Enfin, pour compléter l’épanouissement personnel des jeunes filles, nous leur avons fait découvrir le Yoga. Activité très répandue au Cambodge, le yoga est à la fois un sport physique mais aussi un état d’esprit selon lequel l’esprit sain et le corps sain vont de pair.
Yoga class
 
Maintenant place aux révisions pour les étudiantes, bonne chance à elles !
 

Extension du coffee shop

Le coffee shop de l’école de pâtisserie a ouvert en 2014 pour aider au financement de la formation des jeunes filles en pâtisserie.

En 2 ans, celui-ci s’est développé pour devenir un endroit connu et apprécié de la population de Siem Reap. Mais le manque de place se fait sentir. En effet le coffee shop ne peut accueillir que 12 personnes alors que les groupes sont de plus en plus nombreux à venir gouter nos pâtisseries et le climat chaud et humide accélère la dégradation des peintures

Il faut agir ! Nous profitons de la semaine du water festival pour fermer le coffee shop afin de refaire les peintures, agrandir le toit et poser du carrelage pour protéger les murs. Puis le binôme Chloé et Tiphaine se transforme en décoratrices : changer le mobilier, construire une terrasse, acheter de la vaisselle etc. Mirasol, une artiste philippine, se lance dans une fresque murale qui représente à la fois l’école primaire et l’école de pâtisserie. Le résultat est bluffant ! Bravo et merci Mirasol !

15644634_10153899022307303_528996729_n

Dans le même temps, Chloé noue un partenariat avec un couple franco-belge qui viendra installer son tuktuk de bagels dans le jardin de l’école tous les dimanches afin de proposer des brunchs, c’est le retour des Chill Out Sunday : proposer aux habitants de Siem Reap de venir passer un bon moment au coffee shop le dimanche avec des jeux et de la musique.

Dans la soirée du Samedi 10 Décembre, toute l’équipe s’active pour installer le mobilier afin que le coffee shop soit prêt pour son événement «Open Brunch» du dimanche 11 Décembre !

L’événement est un succès, le temps est radieux et une centaine de personnes vient découvrir le nouveau coffee shop, ainsi que les délicieux bagels et gâteaux !

Merci à toute l’équipe pour leur travail ainsi qu’à la fondation Amber qui nous a soutenu dans ce projet !

IMG_1258
IMG_1255
IMG_1244
IMG_1235
IMG_1199
IMG_1198
IMG_1191
IMG_1182
IMG_1179
IMG_1169
IMG_1168
IMG_1161

, 20 décembre 2016

3ème promo de Bayon Pastry School !

Début septembre, nous avons accueilli 12 jeunes filles défavorisées pour une nouvelle année de formation en pâtisserie-boulangerie.

La sélection
Nous avons débuté en mars dernier le processus de recrutement de la nouvelle promotion. Après avoir diffusé des tracts dans des villages et auprès d’ONG, nous avons reçu plus de 50 candidatures. Les jeunes filles devaient remplir un formulaire portant sur leur situation familiale, leurs conditions de vie et leur parcours scolaire. Suite à une présélection, nous avons convoqué plus de 30 candidates à l’école de pâtisserie pour une session d’examens écrits (culture générale khmère, anglais, calcul) et un entretien de motivation. Enfin, notre équipe a procédé à des visites de familles afin de vérifier leurs conditions sociales et s’assurer que les parents sont favorables à ce que leur fille suive la formation. En effet, la plupart de nos étudiantes quittent leur famille pour la première fois, ce qui peut être difficile à accepter pour les parents.
13296287_10209175824090287_1782654323_n
La session d’examens écrits
IMG_1903
IMG_1858
Visite des familles des jeunes filles

La rentrée
Afin de diminuer les écarts de niveaux entre les étudiantes avant le début de la formation, nous avons organisé une semaine de rattrapage lors de laquelle 5 étudiantes ont pu recevoir des cours particuliers avec Margaux, notre coordinatrice d’éducation et professeur des cours complémentaires.

La période 1 de la formation se déroule de septembre à fin octobre et comprend les premiers cours de pâtisserie théorique et pratique, d’Anglais et de mathématiques. Les apprenties pâtissières découvrent alors un tout nouvel environnement et les professeurs doivent commencer par les bases : vocabulaire du matériel et des ingrédients en cours de pâtisserie, cours d’Anglais… Margaux, notre professeur témoigne :

La première période est passée à toute vitesse et les étudiantes ont déjà bien progressé. Ce n’est pas toujours facile de communiquer avec elles, car leur niveau d’anglais est assez bas et mon niveau de Khmer quasi inexistant – mais un jeune étudiant Khmer est là pour m’assister pendant les cours. J’essaye de rendre l’apprentissage ludique et dynamique – certaines d’entre elles ont quitté les bancs de l’école depuis plusieurs années et ce n’est pas facile pour elles de s’y remettre. Mais petit à petit on instaure ensemble une atmosphère de travail agréable et productive. C’est très satisfaisant de les voir progresser, elles sont très studieuses et ont une réelle envie d’apprendre. Elles sont curieuses et ont toujours le mot pour rire, c’est un vrai plaisir de passer du temps avec elles

Trois mois après le début de la formation, nous constatons déjà de grands progrès chez les étudiantes ! Notre équipe a eu le plaisir de jouer les jurés lors des premiers examens de pâtisserie et nous pouvons dire que les étudiantes nous ont gâtés !

IMG_9927
IMG_9932

Le premier stage
Le 24 octobre, 6 étudiantes ont débuté leur premier stage dans de grands hôtels de Siem Reap : Le Meridien, Sokha Hotel, Somadeyi, Victoria Hotel, Tara Hotel et Sofitel. Cette première immersion de 6 semaines a pour objectif de faire découvrir aux étudiantes un environnement professionnel différent de celui de l’école, les règles d’hygiène, le travail en équipe !

Vous souhaitez soutenir notre formation professionnelle ?
Faites un don ou parrainez une étudiante en pâtisserie !