Welcome to the 2nd intake of Bayon Pastry School!

 

More than ever motivated by the success of the 1st intake, we welcomed 17 new students on early September, following the same strict selection process as last year:

– Applying form: the girls must give much information about their family so that we can assess their social background, the level of studies and their motivation. This form, compared to our criteria (17-25 yeals old, has been to school until at least grade 6, very strong motivation, very poor background of the family), enables us to make a first selection.

– Entrance examination: it includes a written test on general knowledge, mathematics, English notions and an interview.

– Family visits: run by our social worker, they let us check on the information given on the applying form, but also determine more precisely the social and financial level of the family and the parents’ motivation to entrust their daughter to us and to support us during the training.

Some pictures of the family visits:

Keo Keang IMG_3572 Ek Sreynich (2) Bouey Bunnat

Start of class

After a week which was dedicated to the assessment of the students’ level in English and mathematics and to hygiene and food safety, they got to the heart of the matter: ingredients, supplies and first pastry recipes, introducing themselves in English, additions, subtractions, multiplications and divisions, fundamental to respect a recipe.

intake2_2 intake2_13 intake2_18 intake2_23

The first internships

The 8 students in group 1 just started their first internship on the 26th of october, until the 4th of december. They are working in the biggest hotels of Siem Reap: Victora, Angkor Palace, Sofitel, Héritage, etc. From the 6th of December to the 15th of January, the 9 other students will be immersed in the professional world. Two other periods of internship, longer than the first, will take place from late January until early april and from mid-april until late june.

 

Last year, you enabled a young Cambodian woman to follow our vocational training and get a job. Give this opportunity to our new students! You can contact us to sponsor the training of one of our pastry students.

 

They support us:

– Fondation Bergerac

– Fondation Amisse

– La Cure Gourmande

– Fondation Arcéal

– We Like the World

– Energy Assistance France

– Henkel

– R.O Veolia Water (Vietnam) Investment Itd Ho Chi Minh City

– Fondation Nourrir Aimer Donner

– Agence des Micro-Projets

– Colam Initiatives

– Fondation Natan

– Crédit Agricole CIB

– Bruno Moineville

– BILD hilft e.V “Ein Herz für Kinder”

, 28 October 2015

Bienvenue à la 2nde promotion de Bayon Pastry School !

Plus que jamais motivés par la réussite de la 1ère promotion, nous avons accueilli début septembre 17 nouvelles étudiantes, en suivant le même strict processus de sélection que l’an dernier :

– Dossier de candidature : les jeunes filles doivent y renseigner de nombreuses informations renseigner  de nombreuses informations sur leur famille pour nous permettre d’évaluer leur milieu social, le niveau d’études et leur motivation. Ce dossier confronté à nos critères (avoir entre 17 et 25 ans, avoir été à l’école au moins jusqu’au Grade 6, équivalent de la 6ème en France, très forte motivation, famille issue d’un milieu très pauvre) fait l’objet d’une première sélection

– Examen d’entrée : il comprend un test écrit en culture générale, mathématiques et notions d’anglais, ainsi qu’un entretien de motivation

– Visites de familles : conduites par la travailleuse sociale, celles-ci permettent de vérifier les informations transmises dans le dossier de candidature, mais aussi de déterminer plus précisément le niveau social et financier de la famille, ainsi que la motivation des parents à nous confier leur fille et à la soutenir durant son année de formation.

 

Quelques images des visites de familles :

Bouey Bunnat Ek Sreynich (2) IMG_3572     Keo Keang

Le début des cours

Après une semaine consacrée à l’évaluation du niveau des jeunes femmes en anglais et mathématiques et aux cours d’hygiène et de sécurité alimentaire, les étudiantes ont pu rentrer dans le vif du sujet : ingrédients, équipements et premières recettes pour la pâtisserie, se présenter en anglais, les additions, soustractions, multiplications et divisions, essentielles pour respecter une recette.

intake2_23 intake2_18 intake2_13 intake2_2

Les premiers stages

Les 8 étudiantes du groupe 1 ont entamé leur première période de stage le 26 octobre, et ce jusqu’au 4 décembre. Elles ont été accueillies par les plus beaux hôtels de Siem Reap : Victoria, Angkor Palace, Sofitel ou encore l’Héritage. Du 6 décembre au 15 janvier, ce sera le tour des 9 autres étudiantes de s’immerger dans le monde professionnel. Deux autres sessions de stages, d’une plus longue durée, auront lieu de fin janvier à début avril et mi-avril à fin juin.

 

L’année dernière, vous avez permis à une jeune fille de suivre notre formation et de trouver un emploi. Donnez cette chance à nos nouvelles recrues ! Vous pouvez nous contacter pour parrainer la formation d’une étudiante.

 

Ils nous soutiennent :

– Fondation Bergerac

– Fondation Amisse

– La Cure Gourmande

– Fondation Arcéal

– We Like the World

– Energy Assistance France

– Henkel

– R.O Veolia Water (Vietnam) Investment Itd Ho Chi Minh City

– Fondation Nourrir Aimer Donner

– Agence des Micro-Projets

– Colam Initiatives

– Fondation Natan

– Crédit Agricole CIB

– Bruno Moineville

– BILD hilft e.V “Ein Herz für Kinder”

 

, 28 octobre 2015