The Pastry School

pastriesIn 2014, we opened a pastry school in Siem Reap. This school provides vocational training in pastry to underprivileged women. The rigorous selection process chooses young women based on their motivation and their family’s income level. Pastries are now sold in the school’s coffee shop, and the benefits help finance the school.

 

Why ?

It is difficult for students to find a job if they don’t access a vocational training after completing their secondary education. Such training courses are offered in Siem Reap’s universities and private schools; however, students at the Bayon School cannot afford them (minimum $400/year). Without the financial means, it becomes inaccessible to many young students to receive the necessary training. Only a few organizations are able to offer free vocational training – such as Salai Bai – but they can’t meet the overwhelming demand. Education after elementary school is even more crucial for poor young women. If they cannot find remunerative employment, their families often force them into early marriage, or worse, prostitution.

intake2_18

Great job opportunities

The temples of Angkor attract a growing number of tourists each year.  As a result, the hospitality industry provides a significant and promising number of jobs in Siem Reap. There are already over 300 hotels and 700 restaurants, and forecasts predict a 100% growth during the next 10 years. Our objectives are to have 100% of our graduates employed and 50% of the school financed from the cake sales.
DSC_0168web

The training

The girls are selected, based on motivation, academic records and family environment to study at our Pastry School. The training is free and the students benefit from free housing, lunch and pocket money to buy food for their diner. The training lasts 11 months, including 4 months of internship. During those 11 months, they follow different courses:

  • • Pastry courses: with both theory and practice (how to follow a recipe, knowing ingredients’ attributes…) ;
  • • English;
  • • Introduction to Business;
  • • Computer Science;
  • • Mathematics;
  • • Accounting;
  • • Personal Development.

 

Congratulations to our graduates!

August 2015:
After 11 months of training, we are very glad to announce that all the students have graduated! Better yet, all the students found a job after their training! A great joy for them, their families and also for us!
 
September 2016:
For the 2nd year in a row, Bayon Pastry School is a real success since 100% of our students have graduated! So far, 15 out of the 16 graduates have found a job! Congratulations!

Education and training can change lives! Thank you all for your help!

L’École de pâtisserie

En 2014, nous avons ouvert une école de pâtisserie dans le cœur de Siem Reap : cette école forme des jeunes filles au métier de la pâtisserie. Ces jeunes filles issues de familles pauvres sont sélectionnées après un processus rigoureux s’assurant à la fois de leur motivation mais aussi de l’incapacité de leur famille à financer ces études. Grâce à l’installation d’un café au sein de l’école, les gâteaux produits sont vendus afin de contribuer au financement de la formation.

Pourquoi ?

Il est aujourd’hui difficile pour les jeunes passant leur bac de trouver un emploi qualifié sans avoir une formation professionnalisante. Il existe des formations à l’université ou même dans des écoles privées mais ces formations sont payantes (400 $/ an minimum). Elles sont donc inaccessibles à de nombreux jeunes qui n’ont pas ces moyens. Il existe de rares structures permettant une formation gratuite comme l’association Sala Bai mais elles sont submergées de demandes. Par ailleurs, cette situation est encore plus difficile pour les jeunes filles qui sont souvent poussées par les familles devant ce constat, à se marier très jeune ou pire, à se tourner vers la prostitution.

IMG_9809

Des débouchés importants

Siem Reap, grâce à l’attractivité des temples d’Angkor, voit un flux de touristes grandir année après année. Il existe aujourd’hui plus de 300 hôtels et 700 restaurants sur place et les prévisions annoncent un doublement dans les 10 ans qui viennent. Les métiers liés à l’hôtellerie ou au commerce ont donc un avenir évident. Notre objectif est d’avoir 100 % de nos diplômées avec un job et 50% de financement via la vente des gâteaux.  
IMG_8552

Le programme

Pour étudier à l’École de pâtisserie, les filles sont sélectionnées sur des critères de motivation, les résultats scolaires et leur environnement familial. La formation est gratuite et les étudiantes bénéficient d’un logement gratuit, des déjeuners et d’argent de poche pour pouvoir s’acheter de la nourriture pour leur dîner. Le programme de formation dure 11 mois comprenant 4 mois de stage. Durant ces 11 mois, elles suivent des cours :

  • • de pâtisserie à la fois théoriques et pratiques ;
  • • d’anglais ;
  • • d’informatique ;
  • • de mathématiques ;
  • • de comptabilité ;
  • • d’introduction au business ;
  • • de développement personnel.

Félicitations à nos diplômées !

Août 2015 :
Après 11 mois de travail, de concentration, d’apprentissage, de stages, nous sommes très fiers d’annoncer que toutes les étudiantes de la première promotion ont obtenu leur diplôme ! Mieux encore, toutes les étudiantes ont trouvé un emploi à la sortie de leur formation ! Une joie immense pour elles, leurs familles et pour nous !
 
Septembre 2016 :
Pour la 2nde année consécutive, Bayon Pastry School est un réel succès puisque 100% des étudiantes ont été diplômées ! A l’heure actuelle, 15 sur les 16 étudiantes ont trouvé un emploi ! Félicitations !

L’éducation change vraiment la vie ! Merci à vous de leur avoir donné cette chance !